Baby K: 28 Weeks

Baby K and I are 28 weeks today! I think that means I’m 7 months pregnant? Only 12 more weeks to go, which sounds like so little! Thankfully we’re making a lot of progress in getting ready for baby physically by creating our registry and buying a few things, and mentally through our childbirth classes. Now that I am pretty much finished with grad school, we will have more time to prepare more for after baby’s birth by reading less about actually delivering the baby and more about what to do after the baby is here.

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is the size of a cabbage.

According to BabyCenter, baby weighs two and a quarter pounds and is almost 15 inches from head to heel. His or her eyesight is developing, and is now able to see light and blink! The baby also continues to gain fat each week as it gets ready to enter the world. We learned in our Bradley classes that the seventh and eighth months are the most important for brain development. It is extra important to eat well and take care of yourself because of the rapid growth of brain cells.

How I’m Feeling

Still feeling great just tired! I was feeling nervous for my glucose test on Monday morning because even though I know I do not have any of the risk factors for gestational diabetes, I still worry that I’ll develop it for some reason. However, when I showed at my appointment there was a sign on the door that said the office was closed. When I called their phones were down for the entire day. I figured they had lost power because we had really bad storms in the DC area over the weekend while we were away. The next day I called to reschedule and it was a headache because they had to reschedule all the patients at all 4 locations who missed their appointments. Since I HAVE to get my glucose test done before I’m 29 weeks, I have to go in on Friday morning to their Alexandria location which is much further away. It’s not a huge deal though, since I’m off for the summer and have a flexible schedule. It is actually good because my appointment is with one of the delivering midwives, and most of them work out of the Alexandria office and not the one I go to. So this way I’ll get a chance to talk to one of the women who may deliver our baby!

     

How I’m Changing

Basically a larger belly that is getting in the way more and more! I have been finding myself bumping into things because I underestimate how big I am in the front. What is weird is that I have had people tell me that my bump looks small for 28 weeks and some tell me it’s big. One lady that I met actually said I looked like I was due “any minute” … really? I don’t really think I’m THAT big yet. Haha. It’s just funny how people have different perceptions of how big a woman’s pregnant belly should be.

I also think I notice a very very faint linea negra line now. Kevin says he can see it too when I pointed it out to him. Can you see it?

     

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

I have been a lot less hungry lately due to a growing belly, shrinking stomach room, and the heat. The heat always makes me lose my appetite. I’m finding myself getting full from my meals and not having any appetite to snack during the day like I used to. I’m still doing fine with getting calories and protein so I’m not worried.

How I’m Staying Active

I spent part of week 28 running on the west coast and the rest of it running on the east coast. What a difference! The weather here is so much more difficult to run in because of the heat and humidity. But I did notice that when we were on the west coast I had a hard time because of the altitude. My aunt and uncle live at almost 4,000 feet above sea level, so at times it was difficult to breathe and running felt harder.

In other running news, I started wearing my Gabriala maternity belt on all my runs and I love it. I feel so much more supported in my belly and my back and it makes me feel more comfortable when I run. It makes me feel like I’m aligned better. It’s almost like it lifts up my belly off my bladder and keeps the round ligaments from stretching too much. I haven’t had any cramping or pains whatsoever since I started wearing it. I wore it at our 4th of July 5K today and it was great! I’ll have that recap up tomorrow!

  • Run: 15.1 miles
  • Walk: 4 miles
  • Strength-Training: none 😦 I missed Body Pump because of my failed appt. on Monday and there were no classes today because of the holiday. I’m definitely going tomorrow night!!!

Let Freedom Run 5K

Week 28 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: assuming I gained another pound while I was away last week putting me at 18, I gained 0.4 pounds this week.
  • Total weight gained: +18.4 pounds
  • # of days until next doctor’s appointment: 2 – my now rescheduled appointment and glucose test is on Friday.
  • Best purchases for baby this week: Baby Book and the bedding set for the nursery!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

3 responses to “Baby K: 28 Weeks

  1. I think you look great! I’m 23 weeks pregnant so seeing you stay so active is super encouraging 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m trying my best. Some weeks are better than others, but I’m just taking it day by day and doing the best I can for me and my baby 🙂 You look great too! Keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 28 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

