Baby K: 27 Weeks

27 weeks!!! According to most sources, that means that we are in the third and final trimester! I honestly cannot believe that we’re at this point. The first trimester seemed so slow, and the second has flown by! Kevin, Baby K and I have spent this week on the west coast visiting my family that lives here in Oregon.

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is the size of a cauliflower, but since I’m here in Oregon I don’t have a cauliflower to take a picture with, haha. So this will have to do for this week!

According to BabyCenter, baby is now two pounds and 14.5 inches from head to heel! No wonder I feel baby stretch from my ribs down to my pelvis these days! It also says that baby is “sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now.” (FYI – BabyCenter uses she/he interchangeably in these updates- we still don’t know the sex!)

How I’m Feeling

I am feeling good – just tired! Since we’ve been away our days are pretty busy with sightseeing, family time, and other fun stuff. By the evening I am totally exhausted and yawning like crazy. We have been getting a ton of sleep though which feels amazing. Since we are (still) adjusting to the three hour time difference, we tend to go to bed early. I usually wake up really early too, but I’m able to fall back asleep for a while. I’m so glad I’m starting to sleep well. I’m going to enjoy this while it lasts!

Other than that I’m actually feeling really great. Most of the time I don’t even feel pregnant, until I look in the mirror and see my reflection. I realized that the last time I wore this Running for Two shirt in my weekly photo I was only 5 weeks pregnant, back when I wasn’t feeling so great. Not too much of a change from the front view – but definitely from the side!

WOW!!!!

How I’m Changing

What a difference a trimester makes! Let’s do some more comparing of then and now. Here is what I looked like at the beginning of the 2nd trimester (14 weeks) compared to what I look like now at the beginning of the 3rd (27 weeks).

I have noticed that I’m starting to feel achy in certain parts of my body when I wake up in the morning. I think because I’m sleeping so hard, I stay in certain positions for a long time without moving which makes me stiff and sore in the morning. Running and walking helps loosen everything up though.

I also noticed that my balance is worse than usual. I’ve always had issues with my balance and equilibrium from lots of ear infections when I was younger, but lately it’s going even more downhill. I guess this is from me growing and changing where the weight is distributed on my body. I was walking in downtown Bend with Kevin and my aunt a couple of days ago and my foot landed in a small pothole in the ground, which made me lose my balance and fall backward on my butt. I fell very slowly and just couldn’t catch myself in time, but I was fine. I just  need to pay more attention when I’m walking I guess!

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

Since we’re on vacation we have been eating out a lot, which doesn’t always make me feel the best. But the west coast has lots of vegetarian options on almost every menu which is amazing. Now that we’re at my aunt and uncle’s house, we’re able to cook at home more which is good. I’ve been eating a lot of cheese and dairy and it hasn’t been as bad as it used to be. I make sure to take a Lactaid pill with it and it seems to help a lot.

Last night’s homemade dinner- lentil enchilada, salad with strawberries, avocado, and pumpkin seeds, and sauteed veggies

How I’m Staying Active

Well the biggest news was the half marathon I ran over the weekend!

We have also been doing a lot of walking which feels good too. However, I think it’s time to start wearing my maternity support belt. I just feel like I could use some extra support down there lately. I actually found myself holding my stomach the other day while I was running down a hill. So I’m going to test it out on a short run today and see how it feels.

  • Run: 23.1 miles
  • Walk: 6+ miles (lots of undocumented miles in Seattle!)
  • Strength-Training: one quick session of push ups and tricep dips. It’s tough to fit in strength training while away from home!

Walking the River Trail in Bend, Oregon

Week 27 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: I don’t know. I can’t weigh myself like usual today since I’m not at home.
  • Total weight gained: as of last week it was 17 pounds. I’m guessing at least 18 now.
  • Gifts for baby: A really cute and soft dog that is also a blanket from my aunt!
  • # of days until next doctor’s appointment: 5. This one includes the glucose test (ew!)
  • # of days until mommy’s next race with baby: 7 – a 4th of July 5K!
  • # of baby showers being planned for Baby K: 2. One in Pennsylvania on July 28th and one in Virginia on August 25th. We are so lucky to have such amazing family and friends!!!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

5 responses to “Baby K: 27 Weeks

  1. Isn’t it absolutely amazing how much and how quickly your body changes during pregnancy. I love reading about how you keep running races. I’m currently 22 weeks pregnant and have run 2 races (a 5k and a 10k) and have a 4 mile run coming up in a couple of weeks. I hope running continues to go great for you.

    • Yes it is definitely amazing! It happens so gradually on a day to day basis that it’s such a shock to look back on older pictures. Congrats on your races!! I have a couple 5Ks coming up too. I wish you the best for running and the rest of your pregnancy! 🙂

  2. Whoa mama! Your running is going so well, congrats on your race! Hope you’re enjoying Oregon and hanging with your fam 🙂

  3. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 27 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

