Baby K: 24 Weeks

Happy six months Baby K! 24 weeks feels very important because at this point if the baby were to be born he or she would be viable – or have a good chance of surviving. Although obviously I want it to stay inside me for much longer than that, it is comforting to know! I can’t believe I only have 3 more weeks in the second trimester. Only 16 more weeks to go. That’s actually kind of scary! So much to do!

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is as long as an ear of corn! I guess we’re back to length after last week’s weird grapefruit.

According to BabyCenter, the baby is measuring at almost a foot long and weighs over a pound. In fact, it gained about 4 ounces in the last week alone! Maybe that’s why my bump grew so much between this week and last week 🙂 The Bump says that the baby’s skin is becoming more pink as the capillaries form and more blood flows through the body. This baby’s skin is also less translucent and soon it will be entirely opaque.

How I’m Feeling

Basically… stressed. I need more hours in a day. I feel like I’m working three jobs: teaching during the day, doing grad school work at night, and growing a baby- which is a 24/7 job! Not to mention all the other little things I need to do each day around the house and errands I have to run. All of these ‘jobs’ are really exhausting and I constantly feel overwhelmed. But by June 15th, one of those will be over since it is the last day of school. Then hopefully by the mid-July my final portfolio for grad school will be finished – that’s my goal at least. After that I can focus on my biggest and most important job… growing this baby for the rest of the summer!

I am feeling a little bit less stressed however due to the fact that my bridesmaids dress fits now! The lady that did my alterations is amazing. I went on Wednesday to try it on and she is making some last minute adjustments to it now. I will pick it up tomorrow and then the wedding is on Saturday. Hopefully I don’t grow too much before then!

     

How I’m Changing

Apparently my uterus is the size of a soccer ball now, and I definitely believe that based on the size of my belly! Speaking of the size of the belly, at my doctor’s appointment this past Tuesday they measured my fundal height for the first time (from the top of my pubic bone to the top of my uterus) and it was measuring 23.5 centimeters which is pretty much perfect for 24 weeks. It should line up with the baby’s gestational age in weeks, give or take a centimeter or two (so 24 weeks = 24 centimeters). It is one of the ways that doctors judge how big the baby is. This is good news because at our 20 week ultrasound the baby was in the 95th percentile for growth. They’re going to do another ultrasound at 32 weeks to see how big it is at that point, but I’m not worried about it. My baby is growing and healthy and that is all that matters!

     

The baby is also getting much stronger. I know this because his/her kicks and punches are super big now! Sometimes they take me by surprise so much it takes my breath away. But the biggest and most exciting news is that this past week Kevin was able to feel the baby kicking for the first time!!!! Also, on the same night that he was able to feel it kick, we actually SAW the baby moving around under my skin as it moved. It was the craziest thing! Now every once in a while when I feel it, I’ll look down and see my belly twitching. I’m going to take a video of it once it becomes more obvious.

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

I’m actually not eating as much as I was before. I wouldn’t say I was ever really eating too much, but I’ve definitely noticed that my stomach can’t handle the amount of food that it used to. It’s getting to the point where it’s being compressed a lot by my growing uterus, and I get full much faster when I eat. I also stay full for a much longer time. Before I would have to eat every 2-3 hours and now I’m fine for 4-5 hours. I still snack to get the protein and calories that I need but my portions are definitely smaller.

How I’m Staying Active

I was definitely active this week! I ran two races in my 24th week, the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon and the Belmont Bay 5K! I ran both with Kevin and we had a blast.

     

I have also been loving the Runners World Summer Running Steak and the pregnancy rules I made up to go along with it. It forces me to get out and walk on days when normally I would lay on the couch. I can always get out to walk one mile! Plus it’s become a nice evening routine for Kevin and I to do together. One area I didn’t do well in this week was strength-training. Every single Body Pump class conflicted with something that I had to do this week – an event at school, our Bradley Method childbirth classes, a doctor’s appointment, and our race last Saturday. I will make it to one or two classes this week- I’m determined to keep my strength!

  • Run: 24.2 miles
  • Walk: 3 miles
  • Strength-Training: none 😦 

One of our nightly walks around the neighborhood

Week 24 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 pounds
  • Total weight gained: +14.8 pounds
  • Baby’s heartbeat this week: 129
  • Favorite part of the week: my massage from Kevin at the end of our Bradley Method class 🙂
  • Linea negra status: not yet!
  • Stretch marks status: not yet!
  • Belly button status: Getting more and more shallow but still pretty deep.
  • # of days until summer vacation: 7! June 15th can’t come soon enough.
  • # of times I fell asleep at school: 1! While doing paperwork I definitely dozed off for a few minutes. Luckily nobody was around to see 🙂

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

2 responses to “Baby K: 24 Weeks

  1. Great job on the races and you look so adorable! You’ve definately popped! I have yet to actually “pop”. I have a bump but I think it looks weird. 😦 I love yours and you have awesome abs!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 24 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

