Baby K: 21 Weeks

Lots of exciting things this week! Kevin and I went to my hometown for the weekend to see my sister graduate from college, and for my Mothers Day half marathon in Delaware. It was really nice to have so much quality family time, since I live 3 hours away and we don’t see each other as often as I would like. It was also great to have my family see my growing belly 🙂

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is as long as a carrot!

BabyCenter says that the average baby at 21 weeks is measuring about 10.5 inches long and weighs almost 13 ounces (although mine was that weight at our anatomy scan over a week ago!) At this point the baby has eyelids and eyebrows! Also, I learned from The Bump that if baby is a girl (which is what my intuition is telling me), she has already developed more than 6 million eggs inside her womb. Wow!

Sidenote: I love my new shirt from FireDaughter Clothing! I got the “Amaze Yourself” one too 🙂

How I’m Feeling

I am feeling great for the most part, but my first trimester exhaustion is returning a little bit. I’ve had to nap after work the last two days, and I slept for a while in the car on the way back to Virginia on Sunday. Kevin took this attractive picture of me on his phone when he got home from work on Monday… totally passed out!!!

I am also feeling baby move more, which is AWESOME! The movements are still pretty few and far between though. I am starting to realize how big he/she is, because the other day I felt something on one side of my abdomen, then I felt something right after on the other side! Baby is growing! I can’t wait for Kevin to be able to feel it. Right now he likes to rub my belly and talk to the baby, and I know that he is going to LOVE being able to feel him or her move.

How I’m Changing

Maybe it’s just because I look at myself in the mirror every day, but I really feel like my belly grew a lot this week. Do you see the difference between week 20 and week 21?

    

The bump continues to grow and change shape. As it gets larger my belly button is getting more shallow. I used to have a very deep innie and now I can actually see the bottom of my belly button! The hole from an old belly button piercing that never went away is getting flatter too. As the belly grows more people are touching it and commenting on it more. Although I haven’t yet experienced a stranger acknowledging my pregnancy yet – I feel like if you don’t know me you might just think I am a little chubby – especially in certain clothing.

What I’m Eating / Not Eating

Lately I cannot get enough of the following foods: avocado, cilantro, cereal, and pasta. My new favorite is this creamy avocado pasta recipe that is so delicious and vegan! Still doing well avoiding dairy, although I did decide to have a little cheese the other night when we went to On the Border for dinner (one of my favorites!), and it didn’t bother me as much as before. Maybe it’s my increased thyroid medication helping my digestion along? I have to get bloodwork done tomorrow to check my levels again, so we will see if all is good in that department!

How I’m Staying Active

The biggest news this week was that I ran my third race with baby, the Delaware Half Marathon! This was originally supposed to be a full before I got pregnant. I took it easy, enjoyed myself, and smiled the whole time! I love running so much and although running through my pregnancy has been challenging at times, I am so glad I’ve been able to stick with it this well. I really  hope I am able to continue for the rest of my pregnancy. Luckily I haven’t had any issues since my scary experience last week. I’ve been making sure to eat before my runs and drink lots of water, so I think that has really helped.

  • Run: 20.1 miles
  • Strength Training: 2 Body Pump classes

      

Week 21 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +1.0 pound
  • Total weight gained: +11.0 pounds
  • Mothers Day cards received: 2 (and I cried at both of them)
  • # of school days until summer break: 22!
  • # of days until our birth classes begin: 6 (more about that later!)
  • Best purchase of the week: OUR BOB STROLLER!!! It was on sale at Babies R Us so we decided to splurge and get it now. We chose the Revolution SE and plan to use it for running and everyday use. I was so excited when we got it. I made Kevin put it together immediately and went outside to ‘practice’ with it.

     

I don’t even care that I looked like a crazy person running around with an empty stroller. I was just so happy! Now I just need a baby to put it this thing! 19 more weeks (plus a few more – I won’t be running right after delivery unfortunately, LOL).

      

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 21 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 21 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

