Baby K: 17 Weeks

Lots of growing went on this week! I think it’s safe to say that the belly has popped. I can see it, other people notice it, and I definitely felt it as it was growing. I literally woke up last Friday morning with a bump that was twice as big as it was when I went to bed. So weird!!!

At school on Friday... it's grown more since then!

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week the baby is the size of an onion!

According to BabyCenter, “Baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord — her lifeline to the placenta — is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now and she’s around 5 inches long from head to bottom. She can move her joints, and her sweat glands are starting to develop.

How I’m Feeling

Uncomfortable. I can tell baby’s growing because there’s a whole lot going on down there and I feel it all. Like last week I feel weird pulling, stretching, and pains, just a lot stronger now. I can’t get comfortable while sleeping either which is leading to my next feeling…

Tired. I just can’t sleep through the night! I even told my doctor it’s too early for me to not get sleep. My body just feels restless at night even though I am so tired. I had a super uncomfortable night last Thursday and was up all night with aches and pains in my belly. The next morning was the day that I woke up to a belly that was twice the size. So I assume it was growing pains? My friend told me she could actually feeling her stomach ‘popping’, so I’m thinking that was it.

Worried. This week I got the results of my thyroid levels from my bloodwork last week and my TSH level was all out of whack. My doctor likes to keep my level between 0.4 and 2.0. When I was tested at 8 weeks it was 0.5 – perfect. But when I got it tested last week at 16 weeks, it came back as 6.17! Whoa. However, this made perfect sense because I was experiencing a lot of the symptoms- I was just attributing them to pregnancy, not my hypothyroidism. For example, extreme fatigue, always freezing cold, muscle cramps and soreness (like my calf last week!), constipation and irritability. It is very hard to tell the hypothyroidism symptoms from normal pregnancy symptoms!

So I started to freak out worrying about how long my levels were off for, since it had been 8 weeks since they were last checked. I know that an uncontrolled thyroid can cause a lot of issues in babies and can even cause miscarriage. My doctor increased my Synthroid medication immediately and now they want me to see a perinatalogist for a consult about my ‘condition’ because the levels put me ‘at-risk’. Great! They also want the perinatalogist to do my 20 week ultrasound to make sure all is okay with the baby. All of this stressed me out a lot and led to a huge breakdown the other night. I was just so worried that something could be wrong with the baby. However, I am comforted by the fact that after the first trimester, the baby is able to make its own thyroid hormones. I know that my doctors just want me to see the perinatalogist as a precaution, but it still makes me nervous. One things for sure – I will be monitoring my levels every 4 weeks from now on!

How I’m Changing

Umm I think this is pretty obvious. I cannot get over these comparison pictures from week 5 to week 17.

Holy stomach and boobs! It really looks like I have gained much more than I have! It’s crazy how much 6 and a half pounds has changed my body.  But I’m happy that the belly is looking more like a pregnant bump than a jiggly beer belly. It’s getting harder and more round.

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

Lately I have been really craving food that I used to eat when I was little. Macaroni and cheese, grilled cheese with tomato soup, eggs made by my dad, childhood cereal, peanut butter and jelly/peanut butter and honey sandwiches, mashed potatoes… I could go on and on. I think it’s because I’ve been thinking about my own childhood lately and how I was raised, since soon I will have a little one to raise myself!

How I’m Staying Active

Back to feeling great on my runs after the one weird run last week where I felt super uncomfortable. I had an amazing 14 mile (slow) long run and really felt like I could have done more, but it was getting too warm. I did modify some things in Body Pump this week, like using less weight for some tracks and putting the bench on an incline rather than flat for the tracks where I’m on my back (chest and triceps). I also don’t do the abs if they involve crunches, but the instructor told me I can do planks and any exercise that works the obliques rather than the middle.

  • Run: 29 miles
  • Strength Training: 1 Body Pump class, 1 day of 30-ish pushups (better than nothing!)

    

Week 17 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +1.4 pounds
  • Total weight gained: + 6.6 pounds
  • # of days until our 20 week ultrasound: 19
  • # of school days until summer: 40! (Yes, I’m definitely counting)
  • Gender predictions: Everyone is telling me boy, but we did the wedding ring gender prediction test and the ring spun around in circles first (girl) then swayed back and forth like a pendulum (boy)… so baby is confused, or wants to keep us guessing until his or her birthday!
  • The best part of this week: Putting together our new Storkcraft glider! We still have to do the crib and dresser/changing table, but we don’t really have anywhere to put it right now so we’re holding off.

    

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

3 responses to “Baby K: 17 Weeks

  1. You look GREAT! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 17 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

