Baby K: 16 Weeks

I’m 16 weeks today! Time is finally starting to go more quickly, and I definitely feel pregnant at this point. We had a lot of things happen this past week, including 2 doctors appointments! One was scheduled and one was at the last minute due to an issue I was having. More about that later…

What’s Happening With Baby?

Baby is the size of an avocado this week! One of my favorite foods!

According to BabyCenter, he or she measures 4.5 inches from crown to butt and weighs 3.5 ounces. The most exciting thing to happen this week is that the baby can now hear sounds [Source]!!! That means Kevin and I need to start being more careful with what we talk about… just kidding. We’re not that psycho. Baby is also starting to grow hair, eyelashes, and eyebrows. I wonder what color it will be? Kevin and I were both blonde babies!

How I’m Feeling

I am feeling like there’s a lot going on inside my body! I definitely feel things all the time in my pelvic region and where my uterus is – stretching, aching, little twinges of pain, and a heaviness in my uterus that I haven’t felt before. It feels like it’s pressing on my bladder and making me feel like I have to pee even when I don’t.

I’m also feeling like a big crybaby. I cried so many times this past week for no reason really. Sometimes I felt happy, sometimes I was upset or worried, or overwhelmed … too many emotions for my brain to handle!!!

Despite the crazy emotions and feeling overwhelmed at times, we are also starting to feel more in control and prepared. We’re slowly accumulating things that we need for the baby, and we took another big step this week- registering for childbirth classes! We decided to go with the Bradley Method because we are hoping to have a natural, medication-free childbirth. The class is 12 weeks long, pretty intense, and is every Tuesday from May 22 – August 7. I’m going to write about our decision to go with Bradley in another post- but we are very excited about our choice!

How I’m Changing

The doctor told me that by this point my uterus has grown upward to halfway between my belly button and my pubic bone. I couldn’t feel it until she showed me how, by starting in my upper abdomen where it’s softer and squishier and working my way downwards until I feel where it gets hard- that’s my uterus! It was so weird to feel it there and know there’s a little baby inside of it. I feel like I went through a little growth spurt or something. I feel bigger in my belly this week and my skin is really itchy, which means it’s probably starting to stretch. Time to use that shea butter! In the picture below from this past Sunday you can kind of see how the bump is starting to show in regular clothes!

Longwood Gardens on Easter with my little sister

Another weird change this week is that I woke up on Thursday morning with intense and painful soreness in my left calf. I thought maybe I had a charlie horse in my sleep and that’s why it was sore, but I didn’t remember anything and I was up most of the night. I ignored it for a while but I started to worry when it bothered me that night while I was trying to sleep, and it was even worse when I woke up on Friday and couldn’t walk without limping. I started googling it and freaked out when I saw that pregnant women can get blood clots in their calves. I don’t know why I would get a blood clot since I’m so active, but I called my doctor and he wanted me to come in. He felt it and said he wanted me to get it checked out with an ultrasound at the hospital, just to make sure it wasn’t Deep Vein Thrombosis, which is a serious type of blood clot that can occur during pregnancy. So I went to the hospital and got the test done and all was clear in there. It was probably just a cramp that I didn’t remember or some type of strain. I took a day off running and it was pretty much gone by Saturday. Weird! But I was glad I got it checked out. Better safe than sorry! I went back for my real prenatal appointment yesterday and it went well. We got to talk to one of the midwives, ask questions, get blood work done to check my thyroid, and schedule our 20 week ultrasound on May 8th 🙂 Exciting stuff!

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

Basically I’m eating a lot of Easter Candy. I just started craving sweet stuff. Still wanting the salty, spicy, crunchy stuff too! And baked potatoes- we had them for a school luncheon one day and then I wanted them all the time after that. I honestly expected to gain much more than 1.2 pounds this week based on what I ate but I think all the running is helping me balance things out.

Baby's first Easter baskets from Mamaw! There's candy underneath 🙂

My Easter basket from Kevin. I'm spoiled!

How I’m Staying Active

I had some highs and lows in the exercise department this week. I had a really great 12 mile long run on Sunday while I was home for Easter. I didn’t wear my Garmin and took it nice and slow, and felt great the entire time. Didn’t have to stop once! Then this morning I went out for an ‘easy’ 4 miler and I struggled the whole time. I felt like my uterus was so heavy and there was a lot of pressure down there. It felt like it was pushing against my bladder and my pelvic region and it was very uncomfortable. I stopped and walked at least 3 times. I have a feeling I’m going to go through these types of highs and lows. I did before I was pregnant too! However, I have noticed that whether the run feels easy or hard, I always I feel GREAT when I’m finished. It puts me in a good mood and gives me energy that lasts the entire day.  I love running 🙂

  • Run: 22 miles
  • Strength Training: 1 Body Pump class

    

Week 16 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +1.2 pounds
  • Total weight gained: +5.2 pounds.
  • Gifts for baby: cute onesies from my friend Sandy, a Baby Bjorn baby carrier (!!!) from my friend Nicole, and an awesome Easter basket filled with diapers and baby supplies from Kevin’s mom 🙂
  • Things we bought for baby: lots of great stuff from the thrift store!
  • # of mini Reese’s cups eaten: you don’t even want to know.
  • The best part of this week: hearing baby’s heartbeat again- this time the heartbeat was in the 140s!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

3 responses to “Baby K: 16 Weeks

  1. Your little tummy is so cute! How’s Longwood Gardens I’ve been meaning to go check it out sometime? Looks beautiful in the background of your pic. Look at you still killing it on 12 milers, rockstar!!!! Running is definitely hit or miss… sometimes you feel amazing and other times you’re like “I enjoy this…? Not so much right now!” Glad to hear your calf is ok!

    • Thank you! I have found the key to running while pregnant is to just go slow and steady and walk when I need to. However I still have my bad days! Yesterday’s 4 miler was super uncomfortable and this morning the same exact run was perfect. It’s such a rollercoaster whether you are pregnant or not! But you’re doing great with your training. Can’t wait to see you and Shayna rock your half marathon!!!
      Also, I thought Longwood Gardens was really nice. But my dad has a membership and he said that it wasn’t that great yet – if you wait a few more weeks it will be REALLY beautiful!

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 16 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

