Thrift Store Win!

Yesterday I did something I have never done before – went shopping at a thrift store! And let me tell you, it will definitely not be the last time I do that. We made out with a lot of great stuff. Check it out – all this for only $11.66!!!

My mother-in-law wanted to go to one of our local thrift stores to look for some clothes for my nieces who were visiting and asked us to come along. To be honest, I had pretty low expectations going into the store. My only experience with thrift stores in the past has not been good. I have memories of going with my grandmother to thrift stores that were unorganized, filled with dirty and much more than gently-used items and clothing, and just a mess. When we walked into The Village Thrift Store, I was really pleasantly surprised. It looked like a department store! Everything was neat and organized into specific sections. Each item had a tag and small items were bagged and placed on racks. Mostly everything was in great condition.

We went straight to the baby section to see what we could find. They had the baby clothes sorted by size and gender. We looked at the 0-3 month and 3-6 month sections in both boys and girls, and were on the lookout for the clothing that was more gender-neutral (since we’re not finding out the sex). We ended up finding 11 onesies and a really cute hat, all for only 0.60 or 0.90 cents each! They were all by the brand Carter’s, which is a good brand of children’s clothing that usually costs 3 or 4 times that much! Most importantly, all the clothing was extremely clean with no stains or signs of wear and tear. They really looked brand new.

After browsing baby clothing I went over to the book section. I was looking for a few books in particular that have been recommended to me by other moms. I have read a lot of books about pregnancy itself, and at this point I’m really interested in reading about what to do once the baby is here. I actually had three books in my Amazon Shopping Cart ready to order: Baby Wise, Healthy Sleep Habits Heathy Child, and The Happiest Baby on the Block. I was SO EXCITED to find two of those books on the shelves! Both were the newest editions of the books and looked almost new. Best of all, they were only 0.60 cents each! I saved about $25 by finding them at the thrift store!

I left with all kinds of great things for our baby and a new perspective on thrift stores. I know how expensive babies are (I read they cost about $7,000 in the first year alone), and anywhere we can cut costs we will. When it comes to things like clothing, toys, books, etc., why not buy used if the stuff is in good condition? I don’t see anything wrong with it. Obviously we will wash the stuff and there are some things we will buy new (like a stroller, car seat, crib, and things like that). But clothing gets dirty and babies change outfits so often, why not get this kind of stuff for cheap? We will definitely be making more trips to this store!

I know this sounds kind of dumb, but it’s really hard for me to believe that in less than 6 months I will have a little baby to put in these clothes. As we get farther into this pregnancy and start to buy things like this and furniture for the nursery, it is definitely becoming more real. But I think it will REALLY hit me more when I really start showing and when I am able to feel baby move. I am trying hard to be present and enjoy each day and new week as it comes, but it’s hard not to get excited for what is to come in the future! So many things to look forward to 🙂 I am also looking forward to more thrift store shopping. Seriously, you just can’t beat these deals for quality stuff!

What are your feelings on thrift stores? Do you shop there or do you prefer to buy new? 

5 responses to “Thrift Store Win!

  1. Don’t immediately dismiss the idea of purchasing a stroller from the thrift store! Many of the families I babysit for, as the kids got older, bought secondhand strollers, like an umbrella stroller or jogging one, from thrift stores to supplement the NEW ones they had gotten ages ago. I know you’ll probably want to spend good money on a jogging stroller, which makes sense for your’s and Kevin’s lifestyle, but I think you’d be surprised at what you could find to supplement that for cheap at places like this!

    • That’s a good point – I know that many people use the one that we want as both a running stroller and an everyday stroller. But if we needed something in addition to that I would definitely look into it!

  2. Your FIRST time?! I loooove thrift stores haha. I think you just have to find the right one. I’ve been to really crappy ones and then super nice ones. I think baby clothes are great second hand because they grow out of them SO fast!

    • That’s true – I think this store was a very good one! And you’re right about how fast they grow out of their clothes. Plus I’ve heard from the more experienced mommies that babies need their outfits changed multiple times a day. So it just makes sense to buy them cheaper if you can!

  3. Pingback: Baby K: 16 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

