Baby K: 14 Weeks

I am so excited to finally be in the second trimester!! These weeks have crawled by so slowly and it felt like this day would never come. I feel like a weight has been lifted now that I’m past the riskiest stage. I am also finally blogging my weekly updates ‘live’ at this point, which means I am actually 14 weeks today- March 28th. I had been writing all my other updates as I hit each new week and saved them for after we announced, then I posted one a day. Now I am finally all caught up!

What’s Happening With Baby?

Baby K is the size of a lemon this week!

BabyCenter says that the baby is about 3.5 inches long and weighs 1.5 ounces. Baby is able to, “squint, frown, grimace, pee, and possibly suck his thumb! Thanks to brain impulses, his facial muscles are getting a workout as his tiny features form one expression after another. His kidneys are producing urine, which he releases into the amniotic fluid around him — a process he’ll keep up until birth. He can grasp, too, and if you’re having an ultrasound now, you may even catch him sucking his thumb.” I can’t believe the baby can do all of that already!

How I’m Changing

I think I’m starting to see a little bit of a bump! Well, it’s a bump compared to what I had there before at least. Some of the kids at school actually started noticing it and were asking if I was having a baby, so I figured it was time to tell them. I teach 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders, so I got all kinds of comments and questions like, “How did you find out?”, “Is it a boy or a girl?”,  “Did you throw up?” and “I thought you were just getting fat” (hahaha, that was real comment from a very honest 4th grade boy).

Now that I’m in the second tri, I thought it would be a good time to do a little comparison. Here’s week 4 compared to week 14.

    

    

Ooooh yeah… there have definitely been some changes over the last 10 weeks! Bigger boobs, thicker waist, wider hips… and more to come! I actually am loving the changes. It is exciting to wake up and notice my body looking different each day. I think it’s amazing how my body knows what to do to grow this baby. I feel blessed to be able to experience this!

How I’m Feeling

A lot less worry and a lot more excitement!!! Although as I write this I’m watching  19 Kids and Counting and Michelle Duggar just went for an ultrasound and learned that she had miscarried at 17 weeks. My heart broke for her- so devastating and so scary. But I know that what happened to her is not common and that the chances of that happening to me are slim. I know there aren’t really any truly ‘safe’ times during pregnancy, but I’m learning to let go and relax a little more, and it feels good!

Also still feeling nauseous again! What the heck… aren’t I in the second trimester now? It actually got so bad this afternoon that I started dry heaving a little bit. Then I went for a run and felt 100% better 🙂

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

I am officially DONE with dairy. I can’t take the pain and suffering that comes after eating it and it’s just not worth it. I had Dairy Queen on Sunday night and paid for it for 3 days afterwards. As much as I love cheese and ice cream I just can’t do it anymore 😦

How I’m Staying Active

Before Sunday's long run!

I am finding myself appreciating running so much more than before. Every time I go out for a run I feel thankful and happy to be out there. It feels good to not care about time, pace, or distance and just enjoy myself and listen to my body. Last weekend we did an 11 mile long run. We went out thinking we’d try for 15, and we ran a route that kept us close to home just in case we wanted to cut it short and come home early. When we got to the 10 mile mark we had the option to run the 1 mile home or add on a few more miles with an additional loop. Kevin’s knee was bothering him and my hip flexors were feeling tight, so we opted to run home early. I felt good with that decision and happy that I listened to my body. Plus I was proud to have run 11 amazing miles! I had an extra long stretch session when we got home, ate a delicious bagel and smoothie, and relaxed on the couch 🙂

  • Run: 20 miles
  • Strength Training: 1 Body Pump class

   

Here’s another comparison shot (5 weeks vs. 13.5 weeks) since I wore the same shirt for my long run this past weekend that I wore in my 5 week picture. Definitely more boobs and more bumpage!

    

Week 14 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.4 pounds
  • Total weight gained (first trimester total): +3.8 pounds. Recommended gain for the first tri is 1 – 5 pounds so I’m right where I should be! From now on I’m supposed to gain about a pound per week.
  • Favorite pregnancy book this week: The Runner’s World Guide to Running & Pregnancy (more about this next week!)
  • # of times I peed today at school: 10 times from 8:30 – 3:30 … seriously. And yes, I counted because I was curious!
  • # of days until baby’s next race with mommy: 4! Cherry Blossom 10 Miler on Snday!
  • # of days until SPRING BREAK: 2! I seriously can’t wait to relax and catch up some much needed sleep.

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

2 responses to “Baby K: 14 Weeks

  1. I think I use the same app that you do. I have Baby Center and the ‘What to Expect’ app. I LOVE THEM. Congratulations, anyway. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 14 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

