Baby K: 13 Weeks

The biggest news this week is we got to see our baby again! This time for longer than a second, like last week’s surprise ultrasound when they couldn’t find the heartbeat with the doppler. I had my NT (Nuchal Translucency) Screening scheduled for this past Tuesday, which consists of an ultrasound and a blood test that must be done between 11 and 13 weeks 6 days while baby’s skin is still transparent. The ultrasound is done to measure the fluid at the back of baby’s neck, which assesses the risk of the baby having certain chromosomal abnormalities (like Down Syndrome) and congenital heart problems. They also took my blood to test some hormone levels- which are another indicator of these problems. We knew going into it that no matter if the results were positive or negative, it wouldn’t really change anything. We decided to do these tests because they are safe, covered by my insurance, and they give us information that we feel is valuable for us to be prepared for our baby’s needs. The good news was that the baby’s nuchal fold measured in the normal range and I haven’t heard anything about my blood work, and my doctors say no news is good news 🙂 So there is no need for the invasive and risky tests like CVS and amniocentesis.

More good news: the baby was measuring perfect for 13 weeks, and it’s heartbeat was a strong 150 beats per minute! Best of all, we got an amazing profile shot of the little one. It blows my mind that there is a little HUMAN inside of me! It took a while for the sonographer to get baby in this position. She had to do a lot of belly jiggling, but eventually baby listened and got into position. Next ultrasound will be our anatomy scan around 20 weeks… which means we need to start thinking seriously about whether we want to find out what we are having or not!

What’s Happening With Baby?

Baby K is the size of a peach this week!

BabyCenter and The Bump say that baby is the almost 3 inches long now and weighs .81 ounces. He or she actually has fingerprints now! The head is becoming more proportionate to the rest of its body. The baby is also forming its vocal cords and teeth, and its intestines are beginning to move from outside the body to the inside.

How I’m Changing

My stomach is definitely getting rounder and I’m not able to suck it in anymore. I finally bought some larger running shorts to accommodate my growing size and it’s made a world of difference in my comfort level while running! Still loving the maternity jeans too 🙂

Other changes include boobs that continue to get bigger and big, blue veins!

    

How I’m Feeling

I actually had a little return of nausea this week. It came in the afternoons right before school let out. I was able to fight it by eating a snack and going for a run- two of my favorite cures! I think the baby is growing because I also felt very hungry and very tired this week. Growth spurt?

Also this week I found out that I had strep throat. I had an extremely sore throat last Wednesday and Thursday it got even worse. It felt like I was swallowing knives. I knew that one of my students had been out with strep throat a couple days before, and I’m no stranger to strep and had a feeling that I had it too. I stopped by the CVS Minute Clinic after work on Thursday and the results of the rapid strep test said positive as I suspected. However I didn’t have a fever, which was strange because usually I do with strep. The doctor gave me some antibiotics and I stayed home on Friday. I felt a million times better by Friday night!

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

My two new favorite things are jalapenos on everything and popcorn. I just discovered how to make popcorn from plain kernels in a paper bag from the Fitnessista and it’s become my new favorite nighttime snack. I add a little Earth Balance and salt and YUM. Salty, crunchy perfection 🙂

How I’m Staying Active

Well, the biggest news this week is that I successfully completed the Rock & Roll USA Half Marathon and loved every minute of it! It wasn’t my fastest half marathon but it wasn’t my slowest either. I finished in 1:57:54, a 9:00 average pace, and was very proud!

While running I had no discomfort whatsoever and made sure to maintain a comfortable pace and not get too hot. In the hours that followed the race I started feeling some soreness above my pelvis on both sides, surrounding my uterus.  It only hurt if I pushed in on either side. I found out this is probably round ligament pain, which is a normal symptom of pregnancy. The round ligaments are what surrounds your uterus. Here is what I read on BabyCenter that perfectly described what was happening and why:

You might also feel it as a dull ache after a particularly active day – when you’ve been walking a lot or doing some other physical activity. You may feel the pain starting from deep inside your groin, moving upward and outward on either side to the top of your hips. The pain is internal, but if you were to trace it on your skin, it would follow the bikini line on a very high-cut bathing suit.

I rested for the remainder of the day and the next day too, and it was gone when I woke up. Just a reminder to take it easy and take plenty of rest days!

  • Run: 27.1 miles
  • Strength: 1 easy day of a bunch of push-ups (sets of 10) – took it easy on strength because of the half marathon.

    

Week 13 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.0 pounds (same as last week)
  • Total weight gained: + 3.4 pounds
  • Maternity items bought: 2 larger pairs of running shorts, a Gabrialla maternity support belt to wear while running (will need this around 20 weeks), and The Runner’s World Guide to Running & Pregnancy. Very excited to read this book!
  • Best thing I ate this week: A delicious egg, leek, potato, and cheese frittata at my friend’s St. Patty’s Day brunch after our race. SO GOOD!
  • # of times I fell asleep reading for my grad class: at least 4
  • # of years since I’ve had a sober St. Patty’s Day: 8! That is crazy. The last time before this year was 2004.
  • # of days until baby’s next race with mommy: 11! :) Our next race is the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler on April 1st!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 13 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 13 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

