Baby K: 12 Weeks

So many exciting things happened this week – we announced our pregnancy to our workplaces, my blog, as well as the general public via Facebook! Telling people our happy news has been such a fun experience. It’s great to feel the joy that other people have for us and know that we are supported by so many people. We also had my second prenatal doctor appointment a few days ago which was dramatic at first but ended with us all smiles 🙂 More about that later in this update!

What’s Happening With Baby?

The Bump says that baby is the size of a plum this week!

Baby is on my right side according to our ultrasound 🙂

Baby is a little more than 2 inches long from its crown to its teeny tiny butt, and weighs half an ounce. Pretty much all of his or her parts and systems have formed and are functioning. At this point baby enters the growth and maturation stage, and will continue to grow quickly from now on. The baby is also beginning to develop reflexes, and will move around in response if you press on your abdomen (We actually saw this happening at our ultrasound! It looked like a little jumping bean and was moving its arms and legs too.)

How I’m Changing

My sense of smell is INSANE lately! I can smell food from a mile away, and sweaty kids coming in from recess smell extra bad. I also went for a run yesterday afternoon and almost threw up from all the ‘spring’ smells… there were men laying down mulch, and tons of those trees with white flowers that smell DISGUSTING! Please tell me other people know what tree I’m talking about!? Gross.

Digestion is back to normal for the most part, which has made me feel so much more comfortable… YAY! It was cured with a good old fashioned diet of extra fiber and veggies, lots of running, and avoiding dairy products. The belly is continuing to expand, but my doctor told me that it’s my intestines being pushed up like I suspected. She showed me where my uterus is, and the top of it is just now peeking out above my pubic bone. I can sort of feel it when I lay down on my back! So baby won’t make his or her appearance for a little while still until my uterus heads more north and baby grows a little more 🙂 I can’t wait to actually look pregnant and not like I ate too much!

    

And I finally got a bigger and more comfortable sports bra! It feels so much better and is so much more supportive. I still have some room to grow in it too, which is good because I know I will!

How I’m Feeling

So, so much better since our appointment on Monday! My anxiety and worry has been lifted for the most part. My appointment was with one of the doctors this time. It started out normal, with me asking questions and the doctor patiently answering them all- never making me feel stupid or rushed. Then it was time to find the heartbeat. I had been thinking about this since our last ultrasound at 8 weeks. Would they be able to find it? Is everything still okay in there? I was extra worried because just that morning I found out that a good friend of mine had miscarried. I was heartbroken for her and just hoping that I would get good news.

The doctor turned on the doppler and held it to my belly, moving it around and searching for a heartbeat. Nothing. She moved it to another spot and looked for a few more minutes. Nothing. Kevin looked at me and I started to cry. She searches for another couple of minutes. Nothing 😦 So she goes and gets the portable ultrasound machine, asks me if I had any bleeding (no) or cramping (no), and if I had an ultrasound previously to confirm and date the pregnancy (yes). She puts the gel on my lower abdomen right above my hipbone and immediately the little baby showed up on the screen. At first I didn’t see its heart beating, but then it was there flickering away. The baby was jumping around like a little jumping bean and moving its arms and legs. I was SO relieved and immediately cried tears of joy. The doctor said the baby was probably too deep and too small to hear the heartbeat with the doppler yet. It felt so good to see the baby and have it actually look like a baby, since last time it just looked like a little blob. My worry and fears were instantly GONE and we were so happy, especially since that was the first time Kevin had been able to see the baby in person.

On the other hand, I’ve been extremely tired again. My sleep has been very choppy and I find myself waking up at least once an hour. It’s not because I’m uncomfortable – I’m actually very comfortable since getting the Snoogle pillow last week – so I don’t really know why I’m waking up so much. Maybe it’s my body preparing me for the sleepless nights to come once the baby arrives?

In my clothes, I am feeling much more comfortable now too thanks to some new maternity jeans! These things are COMFY and hilarious! I got them from Target. Even though I’m not really showing, my regular pants have definitely gotten too tight for comfort in the belly area, so these feel amazing.

   

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

Love: Salty foods, honey mustard salad dressing, fruit and protein powder smoothies, hard boiled/scrambled/fried eggs, pickles, cooked greens (spinach, collards, kale), bagels, CEREAL. I go through so much cereal it’s insane.

Hate: Cheese and dairy. Well that’s a lie… I actually love them and want them all the time, but hate what they do to my body and my digestion! Also haven’t been wanting fruit lately unless it’s in smoothie form. I gagged my way through a whole apple yesterday. Blech!

Kevin caught me eating out of the pickle jar... such a stereotypical pregnant woman!

How I’m Staying Active

I had another good week of running and even made it to Body Pump this week! Kevin and I ran 15 miles this past weekend and it went well, except that I wasn’t fully paying attention 8 miles in and I tripped over a huge crack in the trail and fell. The fall wasn’t too bad – I landed on my hands and one knee and then rolled to my back – but it really scared me and made me panic for a few minutes because of the baby. I went on to finish the remaining 7 miles and felt fine.  But it was definitely a reality check that I need to be more aware of my surroundings and not ‘zone out’ like I do so often when I’m running.

    

  • Run: 25 miles
  • Strength Training: 1 Body Pump class

Week 12 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.4 pounds
  • Total weight gained: + 3.4 pounds … I swear it feels like 1 pound to each boob and 1.4 pounds to my mid-section!
  • Maternity items bought: 3 items of clothing. I couldn’t take how uncomfortable my jeans were in the belly region anymore and bought a pair of maternity jeans and comfy leggings from Target. They actually aren’t that bad! Also bought a larger sports bra. Ahhh, instant relief!
  • Gifts for baby: My aunt Sacha sent us baby’s first outfits!!! It’s a set of shirts/pants/onesies that are frog themed. SO CUTE… I couldn’t stop smiling when I opened them.
  • # of days until our next appointment: 6! NT Screening is on Tuesday (more about that next week!)
  • # of days until baby’s first race with mommy: 3 🙂 We’re running the Rock & Roll DC half marathon this weekend!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

5 responses to “Baby K: 12 Weeks

  1. I’m so happy for you! So exciting to get to tell everyone, I know I’ll be bursting at the seams whenever this happens to me in the future!

    25 miles this week, you are a rockstar! Good luck with the half this weekend!

    • Thank you! It was so exciting. I actually already ran the half – I had been writing these posts weekly and saving them for when we finally announced. I’ve been posting one a day and I’m 14 weeks on Wednesday, so I’ll be all caught up soon 🙂

  2. You look great! I am also a new mother, hope you can relate to my post, http://lezoemusings.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/mommyhood-welcomes-me/
    Best of luck! Kellie

    • Wow!! Your post brought tears to my eyes. I am so excited to be a mommy too, learn through those experiences, and see the baby grow and develop. Love your blog- can’t wait to read more! And your daughter is ADORABLE!

  3. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 12 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

