Baby K: 11 Weeks

The number 11 has always been a special number for Kevin and me. Ever since we met, we were constantly catching the clock at 11:11 and making wishes like many people do. Then on the night of November 11, 2009 at 11:11 p.m. Kevin made a wish that I would be his girlfriend. Two years later on November 11, 2011 we were married! So this week feels special to us 🙂

What’s Happening With Baby?

According the The Bump, baby is the size of a small lime this week, which seems huge compared to last week’s kumquat. I tried to find the smallest lime in the grocery store, but this was the best I was could do!

This week baby is about 1.6 inches long and weighs .25 ounces. The skin is transparent and it has a 1:1 body to head ratio. Even though I can’t feel anything quite yet, baby is moving around like crazy inside me. BabyCenter also says that the baby’s diaphragm is forming and that the baby is hiccuping 🙂 Can’t wait to feel those too! Maybe in another month or two.

How I’m Changing

I can tell that the muscles in my stomach are relaxing and my organs are beginning to be pushed up to make room for a growing uterus. My mid section has gotten a lot thicker as you can see in the pictures below! I think it’s more obvious too because I have a short torso. Some of my pants are definitely becoming uncomfortable! Check out this amazing interactive video that shows how the organs shift inside of you as pregnancy progresses. This video confirmed that what is sticking out of me right now is all intestines. The organ shift gets crazier as the weeks go by too. I seriously can’t imagine what it will feel like to be 40 weeks pregnant!

Also growing: my boobs! I think it’s time to invest in a few bras… definitely some sports bras. My current ones are suffocating me!

How I’m Feeling

Energy wise I’m feeling much better. It seems like things started to change for me after the 10th week. I’m sleeping better, have more energy throughout the day, and don’t feel nauseous anymore. My digestion has also improved which has made me feel much more comfortable. I started this week desperate and in need of some relief, and I got some after taking milk of magnesia for two nights. However, when I called to ask about taking it my doctor told me that it shouldn’t be something that’s used regularly because it’s technically a ‘laxative’ which isn’t the best choice during pregnancy. So after my initial relief from that the digestion slowed way down again, and I tried to battle it with tons of water, exercise, and fibrous foods. It worked! Things are much, much better in that department 🙂 I may continue taking some magnesium in pill form to see if that will help keep things regular but for now I’m okay.

Other than that, I’m also feeling little anxious because our next appointment is coming up this Monday. There won’t be an ultrasound, but we’ll listen for the heartbeat. I just hope that everything is going as it should and it’s all good news.

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

I am proud to say that I made my return to eating salads this week, after not being able to look at raw veggies for over a month! The key has been to put a not-so-healthy dressing on it like Honey Mustard or something creamy. But hey, it gets me to eat the greens so whatever! I also ate tons of other veggies, baked kale chips, beans, and other fibrous foods. I think this has helped my digestion and energy levels a lot! I have noticed that dairy is the big issue when it comes to my digestion. It just slows everything down and messes everything up on the inside. This is nothing new to me, because I’ve always been lactose intolerant. But it’s hard when all I have wanted is dairy and cheese! However, for the sake of my body and my comfort I’m trying to limit it more and it’s definitely helped.

How I’m Staying Active

I had a great week of exercise. I am seriously loving running. Even when it’s hard and I run slowly, I feel happy, thankful, and strong. It makes me feel like myself again. Kevin and I ran 14 amazing miles last weekend! It was extremely hilly but I took it slow and steady and didn’t have to stop at all. I’m so thankful that I was training for the ultra-marathon before getting pregnant and was running 40-50 miles a week. I was more fit than ever before, so when I cut back to 20-30 miles a week and kept a long run on the weekend it felt very comfortable compared to what I was doing before. So even though I didn’t get to run the ultra this year, I am so glad I signed up for it and trained for it like I did. It set me up for an active pregnancy (so far)!

    

  • Run: 29 miles
  • Strength-Training: 2 at-home CrossFit workouts

Week 11 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.8 pounds
  • Total weight gained: +3.0 pounds – right on track for first trimester weight gain (1 – 5 pounds is recommended)
  • Maternity items bought: 1. The Snoogle pillow. It has already changed the way I sleep! I usually toss and turn, wake up a million times during the night and can’t get comfortable. This pillow is like sleeping on a cloud! Kevin’s not a huge fan though… lol.
  • Gifts for baby: My best friend Christy’s mom sent us baby’s first book! It is called Sleepytime Tales, and I can’t wait to start reading it to the baby when it can start to hear voices. I love books and I am a reading teacher, so you better believe baby’s going to have lots of books!!!
  • # of days until next appointment: 5!!!
  • # of days until we share the news publicly: 7!!!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 11 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 11 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

