Baby K: 10 Weeks

Yay! We made it to double digits! I know 10 weeks isn’t really significant, but for some reason reaching the 10 week mark feels important. The weeks in the first trimester are crawling by, and with each one I am thankful to be closer to the second trimester when I can stop worrying so much! We had a mini photo shoot this week and made our pregnancy announcement for Facebook. Isn’t it cute? Now we just have to wait two more weeks to make it public (we’re choosing to announce at 12 weeks).

What’s Happening With Baby?

Baby K is the size of a kumquat this week! Let me tell you, I have never eaten or even seen a kumquat before. I was surprised to find them at Wegmans! Kevin said they taste like a very sour baby oranges. I haven’t had one because I’m not a fan of orangey things.

BabyCenter says that baby is over an inch long now and spends most of his/her day kicking and moving now that it can bend its limbs. The baby is swallowing fluid, and its organs are all in place and starting function on their own. The finger and toes are no longer webbed, and they are even beginning to grow teeny tiny nails!!! Baby is also covered with ‘peach fuzz’ hair.

How I’m Changing

The biggest thing this week has been my digestion (or lack thereof). Sorry if this is TMI, but this is my pregnancy journal and I want to remember all of the good, bad, and ugly of this experience. I have had a really difficult time digesting my food this past week. I eat something and it sits inside of me for DAYS. Gross. I read that the muscles and ligaments in your belly relax which allows food to pass through more slowly, so that your baby can get more nutrients from it. This is a big change for me because I’m used to having very good digestion. It could also be caused by the iron in my prenatal vitamins. Either way, it’s really uncomfortable and it’s definitely contributing to my belly bloating and the weight I gained this week. Running and drinking coffee have always helped keep things “moving” for me, and running still does to an extent. However, I stopped drinking coffee when I found out I was pregnant. My midwife told me I could still drink a cup in the morning if I wanted to, but I wasn’t sure about it since I heard that an excess of caffeine can cause miscarriage in the first trimester. I finally did on Sunday morning before my long run and it helped a little bit. I think I may continue with a small cup of regular coffee if it will help me feel better and move things through my body!

How I’m Feeling

I’m feeling kind of antisocial lately. I’m really tired all the time (I know… I keep saying that), and it just takes a lot of energy to interact with people in social situations, so I try to avoid them. That’s horrible to say but it’s how I’m truly feeling. Plus, we’re still not sharing the pregnancy for two more weeks with most people, so it’s sometimes hard to have conversations where they are asking me questions and I just want to tell them what’s going on!

I’m also feeling more stretching and pulling in my lower abdomen/pelvis region. I know this is from ligaments and muscles stretching as the uterus grows and things start to shift around. It’s nothing painful, but can be a little achy at times. It’s actually kind of comforting because it reassures me that good things are happening in there.

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

Well over the course of this past week I ate almost a whole tray of chocolate peanut butter brownies and they were amazing. Still loving eggs, bagels, and salty food. One night last week we went to On the Border where I feasted on chips and salsa (my favorite). On Sunday night I ate macaroni and cheese, which was a huge craving of mine for a while. It was just as good as I imagined it would be. I hardly ever eat it because of my lactose intolerance. Still not eating any raw vegetables, but fitting in lots of cooked ones! I’ve been loving cooked greens like spinach and collard greens. My goal for this week is to focus on more veggies and whole foods rather than some of the stuff I have been eating. I know it’s okay to give into some cravings, but this week got a little out of control. I need to keep up my healthy habits for the little one growing inside me 🙂

How I’m Staying Active

I haven’t felt like swimming lately, but I’ve made up for it with my running. My rationale is that if I still feel good when running and want to run, then I’m going to do it! Why force myself to swim when I’m still loving running so much? I plan to use swimming later in my pregnancy when I am not able to run as much. For now, I’m going to enjoy running, body pump, and occasionally yoga… and swim if and when I want to! Kevin and I ran 13 amazing miles on Sunday. It felt comfortable and great – no discomfort, and I didn’t have to stop at all. It made me happy 🙂

    

  • Run: 25 miles
  • Swim: None
  • Strength-Training: 1 Body Pump class + 1 home circuit workout
  • Yoga: None

Week 10 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +2.4! I think it’s a big inflated due to my digestion issues but oh well.
  • Total weight gained: +2.2
  • Belly is looking (and feeling): Full and uncomfortable.
  • Boobs are looking: Huge (to me)!!! I need to get bigger sports bras soon.
  • # of days until next appointment: 12
  • # of times I almost let our secret out: 2. Once on Facebook- I wrote a private message that went public accidentally and was deleted immediately! Another time while pinning on Pinterest. I almost pinned some really cute baby ideas but stopped myself in time when I remembered that everyone could see it.

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 10 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 10 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

