Baby K: 7 Weeks

These weeks are (thankfully) passing quickly. I just can’t wait until we can tell our families and friends. It’s so hard keeping it from people. I feel like I’m lying about something, when really I know we aren’t, we’re just trying to play it safe. The good thing is that the “marathon training” excuse is one that my friends are used to when I turn down a drink, so there haven’t been any suspicions (I think). Anyway, here’s what’s happening with Baby K in week 7!

What’s Happening With Baby?

It’s hard to believe, but this week baby is the size of a blueberry! The baby has doubled in size this week, and is now starting to grow arms and legs from the little buds that sprouted in week 6.

BabyCenter says, “If you could see inside your womb, you’d spot eyelid folds partially covering her peepers, which already have some color, as well as the tip of her nose and tiny veins beneath parchment-thin skin. Both hemispheres of your baby’s brain are growing, and her liver is churning out red blood cells until her bone marrow forms and takes over this role. She also has an appendix and a pancreas, which will eventually produce the hormone insulin to aid in digestion. A loop in your baby’s growing intestines is bulging into her umbilical cord, which now has distinct blood vessels to carry oxygen and nutrients to and from her tiny body.” <— So cool! I love these weekly updates about what’s happening with the baby’s development.

How I’m Changing

More of the same, except that this week I have become extremely forgetful. I will go into another room to get something and forget what I was going to get. Also, this past weekend I was making an egg for myself for breakfast and I asked Kevin if he wanted one. He said he didn’t, but I forgot and made one anyway two minutes later. When I brought it to him he said, “I told you I didn’t want one, did you forget?” … FAIL! But he still ate it and enjoyed it after laughing at me for a few minutes 🙂 I don’t know why this happens but I’ve heard that forgetfulness is a typical symptom of pregnancy.

I have also had crazy mood swings lately. I will go from being happy to cranky in two seconds flat for no reason. It is very confusing to Kevin and myself. I will also go from feeling full one minute to extremely hungry the next. This past weekend while grocery shopping the hunger hit me like crazy, and I had to have food ASAP. We paused our shopping and got some veggie sushi from the takeout side of Wegmans and all was good again 🙂

How I’m Feeling

This week I am mainly feeling happy, excited, and thankful to be pregnant. When you aren’t feeling great, it can be easy to complain and forget that there is something truly amazing happening inside of you. I know some people that struggle with getting and staying pregnant, so I know how lucky I am to be experiencing this and I don’t want to take it for granted and forget that. Especially in these early first weeks where baby is very vulnerable. Kevin and I are both so happy and excited to meet our baby and become parents!

However, this week I did start to feel the beginning of waves of nausea. I have noticed that I definitely feel best most mornings, despite the name “morning sickness.” It’s actually in the afternoon and right before bed that I’ve started to feel very nauseous. No puking or anything yet, but I’ve definitely felt the urge to at times. My mouth gets all watery and I can feel my gag reflex in the back of my throat.

I’ve also been experiencing the sharp pain in my lower right abdomen again like I did last week. This time it happened after my swimming lesson on Friday. I did some research and I think it may be round ligament pain. This occurs when the round ligaments in your pelvic area stretch and thin out as the uterus grows and becomes heavier. This makes sense because the uterus has doubled in size over the last couple of weeks. I read that it can happen in the middle of the night (like last week) or after exercise (like this week). It most commonly happens on the right side and can be felt in the pelvis or lower abdomen, and is a very normal symptom of pregnancy.

Also, still very bloated as you can see in my 7 week pictures! I have a very short torso so when I’m bloated or gain weight it shows immediately all in my tummy because it has nowhere else to go. I suspect this will happen with baby too when I really start to show. I’m wondering if I will start to show sooner than other women because of this. Hopefully not too soon because we’re trying to keep it quiet for another month or so! I also wonder if I will be brave enough to continue the sports bra and yoga pants pictures all the way through my pregnancy 🙂 Haha. I probably will keep taking them each week, but won’t put them all on the blog for your sake as I get farther along!

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

This week I have not been wanting to eat fruit for some reason. One of my students was eating an orange in class and I almost gagged. I also brought an apple to school for my snack like usual, but when it came time to eat it one afternoon it was the LAST thing I wanted. One thing I have been LOVING is tortilla chips. I think I need to stop buying them because I can EASILY house an entire bag. Yes, sad but true. I also enjoyed about a million mini brownies and mini cupcakes at a Superbowl party. My justification was that I wasn’t drinking so I could eat my calories instead. Good logic, right? 🙂

How I’m Staying Active

I had a lot of amazing workouts this week! I think the best was my 10 mile long run. I felt strong and my speed even picked up again. My average pace was 8:51/mile and it felt easy and comfortable.

  • Run: 18 miles
  • Swim: 2400 meters
  • Strength-training: 1 Body Pump class, 1 at-home strength circuit (30 minutes)
  • Yoga: 30 minutes
    

Week 7 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +0.6 pounds (going in the right direction now!)
  • Total weight gained: still -0.4 pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight but will be there soon the way I’m eating!
  • Maternity/baby items bought: 1 (the little sneakers from our announcement – SO CUTE!)
  • Crying episodes: 0! woo hoo!
  • Bags of tortilla chips eaten: 2 (almost all by myself – not kidding!)
  • Days until my first prenatal appointment: 6
  • Days until we go home to PA to tell my family: 9!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

One response to “Baby K: 7 Weeks

  1. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 7 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

