Baby K: 6 Weeks

Baby K is 6 weeks today! Yay! At this point I can definitely tell each day that there’s something happening in there 🙂

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week baby is the size of a lentil! So tiny!

This week, BabyCenter tells me that the baby’s ears, mouth, and nose have started to develop. It also has tiny buds for arms and legs! The heart should be beating strong by this point and pumping blood through its tiny body. The brain, muscles, and bones are also forming. Very exciting week for Baby K!

How I’m Changing

All of things that I wrote about the last 2 weeks are still happening. The new developments this week are that my nails are growing like CRAZY! Seriously, I cut them and they are long and thick like 2 days later. It’s insane. My boobs have also gotten very sore, which I read is from increased blood flow. I still have the bloating that gets worse as the day goes on, but things haven’t changed much in the belly area according to my pictures. That’s okay though – I heard that most first time moms don’t start to show until after week 10 or so. I can’t wait to get a baby belly!

How I’m Feeling

I’m feeling a little less anxious than last week. I’m thankful and relieved with every week that passes. However, I’m still extremely emotional. This week I cried when I came home from school on Friday because I felt overwhelmed with everything- school, grad work, the baby, cleaning the house, etc. It was a little ridiculous and dramatic when I look back on it now but at the time it felt like the end of the world. I also cried the other day when I randomly started thinking about my dad becoming a Grandpa for the first time. Haha, so funny!

I have also been noticing that I will begin to feel a little bit sick when I have an empty stomach. It feels like my blood sugar is dropping quickly and it makes me nauseous and gives me a headache. Once I eat something I feel better immediately. I’ve had to pack a lot of snacks to eat during the day at school.

    

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

Still eating salads, bowls of cereal, and lots of Mexican-type food. I am also loving crackers and pita chips with hummus. I’ve been turned off by raisins for some weird reason. I usually have them in my oatmeal every day but lately can’t stand them.

How I’m Staying Active

It still feels good to continue with my normal exercise routine! I have noticed that my pace has slowed down a little bit, and on my long run of 10 miles this week I got tired much more quickly than before. I am assuming that will continue to happen from here on out.

Here’s how I stayed active in Week 6:

  • Run: 24 miles
  • Swim: 2750 meters
  • Strength-training: 1 Body Pump class

    

Week 6 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: +.2 pounds
  • Total weight gained: -1.0 pounds
  • Crying episodes: 2
  • Number of things I’ve googled about pregnancy: 5,403,348
  • Number of pregnancy books read: 2 (Panic Free Pregnancy and Belly Laughs – both great!)

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

2 responses to “Baby K: 6 Weeks

  1. I’m so happy for you! Love reading your updates. Can’t wait to see you with your bump 😀

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 6 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

