Baby K: 4 Weeks

Yes, this is a blog about running, but it is also about my life in general. I started this blog as a way to record and remember my experiences, and now that I’m pregnant obviously this is a HUGE part of my life! I really want to document each week of my pregnancy so that I can remember all the details of this special time. I think it will be nice to have it to look back on someday and maybe even share with him or her in the future.

With that said, I am now 4 weeks into my pregnancy with Baby K! We call it Baby K because regardless of whether it is a boy or a girl, we plan to give him or her a name that starts with the letter K 🙂

What’s Happening With Baby?

This week the baby is the size of a poppy seed! According to BabyCenter, week 4 begins the embryonic period for the baby which lasts until week 10. He or she will start developing organs this week and according to The Bump, the neural tube, which is the building block of the spine and brain has already been formed. This is why it’s so important to take prenatal vitamins with folic acid early in your pregnancy, because folic acid helps the neural tube develop properly and prevents birth defects. I knew this, so I started taking my prenatal vitamins before we even got pregnant since I knew we’d be trying soon [I take Trader Joe’s brand]. Also, the amniotic sac is now in place, and the placenta is developing and getting ready to begin nourishing the baby.

How I’m Changing

This week I found out that I was pregnant. I actually had a very strong feeling that I was before I even missed my period or took a test. Some of the things that clued me in were certain ways I was changing. For example, I was waking up many times during the night from the craziest, most vivid dreams, or to go pee. I very rarely have to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, so this was a big change for me, and I knew that increased hormones in the body can make you have crazy dreams and expanding kidneys make you have to pee more. There were also a few times that I woke up with extreme hunger, which was very strange too. I felt constantly hungry during the day as well, but I was attributing it to marathon training, even though I knew in my heart it was for a different reason. It was like my metabolism was in overdrive. Once I took a test and saw it was positive, it all made sense. My body was tired and hungry because it was busy burning through all my energy to develop this baby! Despite eating a LOT, I lost a pound this week, which I don’t really understand either. We took some pictures this week to show the “before” body – all that’s there right now is a little bit of bloating in my belly area, which is normal for the first trimester.

   

Some other weird symptoms I’ve been experiencing are a lot of burping. I’ve never been a huge burper, but this week I was burping constantly! Kind of gross and weird. I don’t know what could be causing that but it’s definitely something new. I’ve also been getting headaches more often, and feeling dizzy or lightheaded at random times during the day.

How I’m Feeling

First and foremost I feel disbelief that this is real. I keep questioning whether or not there is really a baby inside me. Some days I feel like I’m pregnant and other days I don’t. Other than disbelief, I feel complete and absolute exhaustion! Despite going to bed earlier than usual I am so, so tired all day long. This may be due to the fact that I am waking up multiple times during the night from the dreams, to go to the bathroom, or because I’m hungry. I also feel super emotional. This week I cried when I heard a song on the radio, while watching the Olympic Marathon trials, and while watching the Biggest Loser. I know most of these symptoms are a result of all the hormones that are surging through my body. I also have a gut feeling that it’s a girl. I don’t really know why but I just do. Kevin says he doesn’t have a feeling either way at this point. We’ll see if that changes!

What I’m Eating/Not Eating

There is nothing I’m not eating this week. I’m eating everything! Specifically, Mexican food is what I’m craving, but that was true before I was pregnant too. This week we made enchiladas at home, got Chipotle take-out, AND went out to On the Border for dinner. I can’t get enough!

How I’m Staying Active

As soon as I found out I was pregnant this week I dropped out of the HAT 50K. Even though I want to continue running throughout my pregnancy there is just no need to run an ultra-marathon when I’m 13 weeks pregnant. I was running 40-50 miles a week before and decided to basically cut that in half since I’m no longer training for an ultra. The crazy thing is that even though I’m tired, I feel my best when I’m running or doing something active. I actually did my amazing 20 mile run when I was pregnant and didn’t know it! However, now that I am aware of my pregnancy I am running easy and paying attention to my breathing and heart rate, going slower, and trying not to overexert myself or get overheated. So far so good!

In my 4th week of pregnancy, here’s how I stayed active:

  • Run: 44 miles (high because of my 20 miler)
  • Swim: 1150 meters
  • Strength-training: 2 Body Pump classes
  • Yoga: 1 hour

    

Week 4 Summary:

  • Weight gained this week: -1.0 lbs.
  • Total weight gained: -1.0 lbs.
  • Pregnancy tests taken: 4
  • Crying episodes: 4
  • # of people we have told: 0
  • # of people we have wanted to tell: everyone!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the Baby K page!

4 responses to “Baby K: 4 Weeks

  1. How exciting! I recorded my husband’s reaction when he found out, isn’t it a happy experience!?

  2. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – 4 Weeks | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

