Baby K Details!

I am SO happy and relieved to have finally announced the secret I’ve been keeping for the last 8 weeks! Kevin and I couldn’t be more excited about this pregnancy. We call the baby “Baby K” because whether it’s a boy or a girl his/her name will start with a K (like our names- Kevin and Katie). I’ve actually been privately blogging about all of this since we found out on January 17th – when I was only 3 weeks and 6 days pregnant. It has been a great way to cope with all the feelings I have had on this emotional and physical roller coaster called pregnancy.  It’s been difficult to think about much else than what is happening inside of me, and that combined with extreme fatigue, not feeling well, and being busy with school and grad work – I dropped off the face off the (public) blog world. I’m excited to finally post what I’ve been blogging about all along! I plan to publish all of these posts I’ve been writing each week (and the pictures I’ve been taking!), and keep writing new ones, as a way to remember this special time in our lives forever.

The announcement we posted our on Facebook pages!

I am 12 weeks pregnant as of yesterday when I posted our announcement on the blog. The baby is due to arrive around September 26th! Although I’m not quite out of the first trimester yet, I finally feel comfortable sharing the news publicly. I’ve had two ultrasounds so far (at 8 weeks and 11.5 weeks) and saw a healthy, jumping, little baby both times, so the chance of miscarriage has gone way down at this point. Keeping it a secret from family and friends for so long was VERY difficult for me and each week went by super slowly.

Kevin caught me eating out of the pickle jar… such a stereotypical pregnant woman!

So what’s changed for me? Well, things have changed for me in some ways (my diet, my waistline, my sleep, etc.) and some things thankfully haven’t really changed much at all… most notably- my running! Yes, I know that I had grand plans of 3 marathons in 3 months. Obviously those plans are going to have to change a little bit now. We found out that I was pregnant only a few days after my amazing 20 mile run (I was actually pregnant during that run and didn’t know it), and I was so excited about my newfound speed. I am not scrapping my plans altogether, just modifying them (with my doctor’s approval), which I will write more about at a later date. Basically I dropped out of the ultra and am running slower, but am still maintaining a weekend long run (up to 15 miles as of last Sunday) and feeling great! The other races are TBD, but I do know that I will be running the Rock & Roll DC half marathon this weekend 🙂

Running 20 miles while pregnant and didn’t know it yet!

In the very beginning of all of this when I was starting to think I might be pregnant, I started writing down my thoughts journal-style. I am so happy to have what I was thinking and experiencing recorded.  Some of it is pretty personal and probably TMI, but this is MY blog that I started to document my running and the rest of my life. I thought hard about whether to post these personal things, but in the end I decided that my blog is primarily for me to have to look back on later and this is obviously a huge part of my life right now. If you would like to read too, go right ahead. If not, nobody is forcing you 🙂 Here is what I wrote in those first few, happy, exciting, nerve-wracking days!

Wednesday, January 18th, 9:00 a.m.

I just got to school and I can’t stop thinking about the fact that I might be pregnant. Today is day 29 of my cycle, which should be the last day. I ovulated on day 16 – two days earlier than usual, which is why I think it could be a possibility. I am on day 13 of my luteal phase (they are usually 11-12 days max). Usually by now I’m noticing some signs that my period is coming but I haven’t had ANY at all. My temperatures are also higher than ever. After ovulation my waking temperatures usually range from 98.1 – 98.4. This cycle they began from 98.2 – 98.4 like usual, and now they are even higher at 98.7 – 98.8. Usually by now they come down significantly too, and by the time my period starts they’re back to 97.7ish (*FYI* for the last 7 months since I went off the pill I had been charting my cycle using the Fertility Awareness Method, which is why I knew about my luteal cycle, when I ovulated, my temperatures and what they mean, and everything like that).

Since I can’t stop thinking about it I read Babycenter’s top 10 signs you may be pregnant and here’s what I am experiencing and am not experiencing.

Symptoms:

  • Mid-cycle spotting for a few days (began 5 days after ovulation)- could be implantation bleeding?
  • Higher than usual temperatures- even a second phase of even higher temperatures, which is an indicator of pregnancy.
  • Very dry skin (I have no idea if this has anything to do with anything, but I’ve noticed it happening in the last 2 weeks)
  • Extreme fatigue, despite going to bed early. I haven’t been able to wake up early to run at all lately and instead run in the afternoon. However, I have felt amazing on all my runs which is kind of weird if I am pregnant.
  • Occasional dizziness and lightheadedness, especially when I stand up.
  • I have noticed that my sense of smell is extra strong lately when it comes to food or after Kevin and I run and need to shower (LOL). It seems to register in my nose much more than it used to.
  • Very emotional. I cried listening to a song on the radio, at the Biggest Loser, watching the Olympic marathon trials, and when thinking that I might be pregnant. I also have been tearing up for no reason. Maybe hormones?
  • Peeing very frequently, especially in the middle of the night.
  • My chart this month is noticeably different and matches many of the “pregnancy achieved” charts in my Taking Charge of Your Fertility book.
  • Lots of headaches.
  • Crazy, vivid dreams every night. Sometimes they even wake me up in the middle of the night.
  • My period is due tomorrow with no signs of it coming anytime soon. We will see if I miss it or not.

Symptoms I don’t have:

  • No breast tenderness
  • No nausea or vomiting
  • No abdominal bloating

I had to write all this out to see if what I’m experiencing makes sense or if I’m imagining it all. After looking at these patterns though, I’m starting to think I may be. If I am pregnant, I know I conceived around January 4th or 5th and I would be 4 weeks pregnant tomorrow. If I don’t get my period in the next few days and my temperatures stay high I am going to take a pregnancy test. I also conveniently have my annual OBGYN exam this Friday, which would put me at Day 31 of my cycle. Maybe I could have them give me a test to see if I’m pregnant. I’m trying not to get excited or get my hopes up because I know it could very well not be true, but I can’t help but wonder. Everything is definitely VERY different this cycle, and I’ve been tracking for 7 months now so I’ve come to know my patterns and my body well. I also conveniently started taking pre-natal vitamins at the end of December, because I knew we’d be trying within the next few months. I just didn’t know it might be this soon! Kevin knows what’s going on too and I think he is more excited than I am. I promised him I wouldn’t take a test without him there. So, we’ll see what happens. I’m still expecting I’ll get my period today or tomorrow. I guess only time will tell… 🙂

11 a.m.

It figures that as soon as I write that I haven’t experienced any nausea or vomiting that just a few hours later I start to feel sick. I was testing students in the hall when I started getting that sick to my stomach feeling and extra saliva in my mouth and felt like I might throw up. I walked down the hall to see if it would help, but it was still there. My eyes also started tearing up, which happens before I am going to throw up. I went outside to get some air and it helped. Now that I’m sitting at my desk it’s back. Is it all in my head? Am I imagining this because I think I might be pregnant or is it real? I have no idea but it’s driving me crazy! I hope I don’t end up getting sick.

7:45 p.m.

I couldn’t take it anymore so I finally peed on a leftover pregnancy test I had from a couple months ago. I couldn’t believe when it immediately came up with 2 blue lines, less than 30 seconds later. I took it out to Kevin and we waited a couple more minutes to be sure. But there is no mistaking it – there’s definitely two blue lines. The line that isn’t the control is light, but it’s there. I had a feeling it would be light if it was there at all because I haven’t even missed my period yet, so my hcG (pregnancy hormone) levels are still pretty low. Now I’m begging Kevin to go to CVS with me so I can get more tests, but he’s in the middle of watching Storage Wars and wants to wait until it’s over. Really?! LOL. I feel like I can’t believe it until I get confirmation from multiple sources. I’m so excited!!!

8:30 p.m.

It has been confirmed. We got Clear Blue pregnancy tests that clearly say “pregnant and “not pregnant.” Ours said PREGNANT!!

I am in shock. Kevin and I took a video of us when we looked at the second test to be sure it was really true. Here are a few screen shots. Our faces are priceless – that was our honest reaction. I’ll never forget how it felt to see the word “PREGNANT” 🙂

I just hope this little baby sticks around. I know that 20-30% of pregnancies end in miscarriage. I will be going to the doctor on Friday so I will be able to ask some questions then and hopefully I won’t worry too much until then.

Thursday, January 19th, 9:00 am

I had a hard time sleeping last night. I couldn’t get comfortable and woke up in the middle of the night really hungry. I also noticed something else happening a lot. I’ve been burping all the time! I don’t usually burp very much. Very strange. Anyway, this morning I woke up, took my temp (still high – 98.5 degrees), then took another pregnancy test. It was still positive. I woke up Kevin and made him take our first belly pics @ 4 weeks.

   

Then I went for an easy three mile run that felt great. I really hope I can keep up my running. While I was eating breakfast I noticed that What to Expect When You’re Expecting was in the lending library on my Kindle, so I downloaded it. I haven’t read any of it yet because I’m still not convinced this is real. However, just in case, I drank decaf coffee this morning. I know that doctors say that a little caffeine is fine, but it’s not so much the caffeine I’m addicted to. I think I just like the routine of drinking something hot in the morning. The decaf was great – let’s see how I feel later today!

I also called my doctor this morning to ask about getting bloodwork done to check my thyroid. He told me before that if I ever became pregnant I would have to come in right away since it’s very important for your TSH levels to be okay, especially in the first trimester. I started crying when I told the receptionist I was pregnant. She was the first person besides Kevin that I have said it aloud to 🙂 Damn hormones! I will go in for bloodwork on Monday morning. As of right now I’m still fearful that something might happen since I’m only 4 weeks. I’m such a worrier in general – this is going to be a long 40 weeks!

So that’s it.  I just put it all out there! No shame here 🙂 At this point I started writing weekly updates that documented the rest of my journey so far – including my first few doctor’s appointments, switching to a new OBGYN/Midwife collaborative practice, and all the joys of the first trimester.  I am a pretty open person and don’t mind talking about stuff like this. It’s all so exciting and I just can’t wait to see how the rest of my pregnancy and life afterwards unfolds. Here’s to new beginnings!

For more pregnancy posts, visit the brand new Baby K page!

3 responses to “Baby K Details!

  1. Pingback: Revisiting 2012 Goals & Setting Goals for 2013 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Baby 2.0 – The Details | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

