NBC4 Health and Fitness Expo

On Sunday Kevin and I went up to D.C. with his sister Kara and her fiance Brandon for the NBC4 Health & Fitness Expo! I had been hearing this expo advertised on the radio and TV for weeks and I love this type of thing, so I really wanted to go. Plus I heard that some of the Biggest Loser contestants would be there and Kevin and I are HUGE BL fans.

When we arrived at the Convention Center I could not believe how big the expo was. I’ve been to tons of race expos and none of them were as big as this was. It was packed with vendors, health organizations, information tables, activity areas, many booths offering a variety of free health screenings (how awesome is that?), and other  free stuff!

We made our way to the stage area where the Biggest Loser Q & A was beginning. On stage were Sarah, from BL 11, Sione from BL 7, and Antone from the past season, BL 12.

It was awesome to see them in person and hear them speak. They all look great and what they have all accomplished is truly amazing!

Antone is our favorite! We love him and wanted him to win. He got second place this past season.

After listening to them speak for a little while we went over to the Biggest Loser booth and found some more past contestants! First we met Ramon (the second runner-up from BL 12). We loved him too because of his motivation and great personality. He made a huge transformation and became an awesome runner in the process. He actually won the Biggest Loser marathon that they had for the contestants that had been voted off, earning his spot in the final 3! He ran it around 5 hours, which is unbelievable. I told him how proud I was of him when he ran the race. Marathons are definitely NOT easy, especially for someone who has lost 150 pounds!

Then we met his girlfriend and another Biggest Loser contestant, Jessica. They met and fell in love on the show – awww 🙂 Jessica was absolutely beautiful and so sweet. She also kicked some butt in the BL Marathon. She told me that her and Ramon will be running the LA Marathon next. I can’t wait to see how they both do!

After the BL excitement we walked around the entire expo and checked out all that it had to offer. We saw so many great things – stations where you could climb your way to the top of the Washington Monument or another famous landmark, Zumba classes, an Urban  Evolution fitness class that uses city-like props to do crazy gymnastics moves, and so much more!

And then we saw this. Really McDonalds? Why are you here at a Health and Fitness Expo with posters of french fries and Big Macs plastered all over your booth?

I thought it was great that NBC4 organized this health and fitness expo for the public for free. One of the things I love about the D.C. area is how active the people are. Everywhere you go in and around the city you see people biking, running, and playing different sports outside. There are tons of fitness clubs and healthy restaurants (lots of vegetarian ones too!) It’s always inspiring and motivating to go to these kinds of events, where health and fitness is a priority and everyone is there to learn how to take better care of themselves. We left with motivation, lots of information, and some great free swag (the mini Larabars were our fave). I can’t wait to go back next year!

3 responses to “NBC4 Health and Fitness Expo

  1. I love watching The Biggest Loser when I’m on the treadmill at the gym. I’m like if they can do it, I can do it! Can’t believe they ran a marathon though, that’s crazy. Speaking of crazy, can’t believe McDonald’s was there, so strange!

  2. Free swag is where it’s at!!! It looks like an interesting expo. I somehow had no idea it was going on

  3. I found your blog on http://runinspired.wordpress.
    com/2012/01/17/nbc4-health-and-fitness-expo/ and I’m extremely grateful I did. I feel as though you’re reading my mind right now.
    You come across as knowing so much regarding this, like you published the book on it or
    something. While I think some extra media like some pics or a couple of videos,
    this will be a fantastic resource. I will most definitely return.

Leave a Reply

