Our Wedding: The Reception [Part 4]

Previous wedding posts:

After taking photos outside, Kevin and I headed inside the clubhouse for our reception. The staff at Osprey’s Landing had set everything up perfectly and it was all beautiful. We met our wedding party in the foyer to get ready for our entrance. I heard the DJ playing music in the bar area and guests mingling and talking during cocktail hour. I was so excited to get in there and start celebrating with them. Someone brought me a glass of wine, and a little of my favorite [tequila], and then I was all warmed up and ready to go! We heard the DJ start the song our wedding party would be entering to: “Yeah 3x” by Chris Brown, and our entrance kicked off with my dad dancing into the bar area with Kevin’s mom.

Then came the rest of our wedding party…

The song switched to “Give Me Everything Tonight” by Pitbull and then it was our turn!

It felt amazing to come into a room full of people that I love, knowing that they were all there for us. I was so happy and couldn’t stop smiling. Our wedding party joined us on the dance floor and we all danced together for a minute.

The song switched to “History in the Making” by Darius Rucker, and everyone cleared off the dance floor for our first dance as husband and wife.

Kevin and I sang to each other as we danced and just enjoyed the moment. This has been our special song since we started dating [exactly 2 years before on 11/11/09] and it meant so much to be dancing to it on our wedding day.

After our song ended we took the microphone and thanked our guests for being there for us. Then we told them we would be lighting a candle in memory of my mom, who passed away in 2004 from cancer. We wanted to light the candle and have it burning all night to symbolize her being there with us in spirit. It was an emotional and special moment for me and many of my guests who knew and loved my mom.

Then it was time for dinner. We all went into the dinner room and our guests found their seats with the place card I had attached to their favor (personalized M&Ms with our picture, names, and wedding date on them!)

For our table numbers we had a picture of us at that age. So Table 7 had a picture of Kevin and I at age 7. These were a big hit πŸ™‚

We sat at our beautiful little sweetheart table. It was hard for me to sit down right away. I wanted to talk to all of our guests! But I knew it wasn’t time for that yet. First up were the toasts! My sister wrote an amazing and funny speech that left everything laughing. It was personal, sweet, and honest… maybe a little too honest! πŸ™‚

Kevin’s best man was his dad, who also had a great speech, although much shorter and to the point. It was something along the lines of, “bring on the grandbabies” πŸ™‚

Then it was time for the FOOD!

The staff has already made us plates of the delicious food, so we dug in while our guests were called up by table. Our food was from Windows Catering Company and it was so, so good. We heard nothing but great things from everyone about it. After we ate a little bit, we were informed it was time to make the rounds to all the tables to say hello.

Once we made it to all the tables the DJ announced that it was time to go back into the bar/dancing area for our dances with our parents. I danced with my dad to “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts. I love this song and it was really special to dance to it with my daddy.

Kevin danced with his mom to the song “Do I Make You Proud” by Taylor Hicks. This has been a special song for Kevin and his mom since he joined the Air Force, and it was another emotional dance for both of them.

After these dances the serious parts of the night were over and it was time to PARTY! Many of our guests told me that throughout the whole wedding, they went back and forth between laughing and crying – and by this time the tears were finished. We all had TONS of fun!

Of course we had some of the traditional wedding traditions during our reception. This included cutting the cake, which turned into a little bit of a battle!

And the garter removal, to the song “Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off” by Joe Nichols, because tequila is my favorite πŸ™‚ Kevin thought it would be funny to use some props, including a mini bottle of Patron and Steelers underwear!

The bouquet toss was next… caught by Mamaw!

Followed by the garter toss… caught by my soon to be brother-in-law Brandon!

Then it was time to put the garter on the person who caught the bouquet. It just so happened that it was Brandon who had to put it on Mamaw (his soon to be grandmother-in-law!) This was HILARIOUS! It started like this…

And ended it like this when he attempted to take it back off (with his teeth)…

Don’t worry Mamaw was okay πŸ™‚ She definitely knows how to have a good time!

We also did an anniversary dance for all the married couples. It came down to my aunt and uncle, and my friend Ashley’s parents. Ashley’s parents won with 33 years of marriage! We had a bottle of wine and beer dressed as a little bride and groom as their prize.

One of the last things we did was for my bridesmaid Sandy’s birthday, which was the same day as the wedding! We surprised her by playing the beginning of 50 Cent’s song “In the Club” where it says, “go shorty, it’s your birthday…” and gave her a Georgetown Cupcake! She was embarrassed and it was great!

The reception went by way too quickly and before I knew it, the DJ was playing our final song, “Marry Me” by Train.

After the reception some of us actually went out to a local bar and restaurant called the Bungalow Alehouse. We had some snacks, some more drinks and hung out. We didn’t want the party to end! But it eventually did, and we went back to the hotel room to this…

Our wedding was truly the best day of my life. It was imperfectly perfect, and full of love, laughter, and tears. I have the most amazing memories of this day, that’s why I wanted to document it here on this blog about my life so I will have it all written down forever. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for Kevin and me. He’s my best friend and the love of my life!

I will end this post with a few of our favorite special details from our wedding.

Our card box covered in a race t-shirt and race bibs!

Our programs with a crossword puzzle all about us on the back

Our blessing bowl after guests dropped their stones into it

My beautiful bouquet

Our personalized M&M favors

5 responses to “Our Wedding: The Reception [Part 4]

  1. Pingback: Recap of 2011, Goals for 2012 | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday Run Inspired! | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Our Pennsylvania Baby Shower | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Baby’s First Photo Shoot | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Our One Year Anniversary | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

