Bring On Fall!

This morning I had the best run I’ve had all summer. Why? Because it was like a little taste of my favorite season- fall! When I went out at 6 a.m. it was a perfect 67 degrees with hardly any humidity. I flew through 8 amazing miles with a smile on my face, feeling strong, hardly sweating, and loving life – no walking breaks needed! I will admit, the heat and humidity have left me feeling very defeated and discouraged this summer, so today’s run was just what I needed to restore my confidence and make me love running again. I am so excited for the fall weather to return for good!

I love fall for so many reasons. Here are a few:

  1. Perfect temperatures for running.
  2. Beautiful colors in nature.
  3. School starts again which means a fresh start for my students and me.
  4. Jeans and hoodies make their return to my wardrobe. My favorite things to wear besides running clothes πŸ™‚
  5. FOOTBALL! My NFL team is the Eagles and my college team is Penn State.
  6. My favorite holidays- my birthday and Kevin’s birthday (yes, they count as holidays), Halloween, Thanksgiving, and our anniversary!
  7. Fall foods are the best. Apples, pumpkins, squash, sweet potatoes, and more!
  8. We take our annual camping trip to French Creek which means good food, friends, family, drinks, campfires, and fun! We have been doing this for as long as I can remember!
In addition, this fall is extra exciting for me because I have a lot of special things going on! Since I love lists, let’s just keep them coming.
  • Running the Air Force Marathon.
  • Turning 25 years old.
  • Our bachelor/bachelorette parties in Atlantic City.
  • Going to Pittsburgh for a Steelers game (Kevin’s team).
  • Going to French Creek with family and friends.
  • Getting MARRIED on our two year anniversary (11/11/11!)
  • Running our first race as husband and wife (Veterans Day 10K)
  • Going to COSTA RICA for our honeymoon!
I am so excited just looking at that list. This is a very special time in my life and I can’t wait to experience it all and soak it all in. At the same time, I’m going to enjoy my last 2 and a half weeks of summer vacation before it all begins. In addition to all those great things I listed above, there are going to be some big challenges as well. I love my job, but starting a new school year is always a little bit tough, and on top of my normal workload I will be co-teaching a professional development class for teachers with one of my colleagues. I’m also beginning my second (and last) year of grad school AND finishing up my wedding planning. WHEW! I’ve always been a good with time management, and as crazy as life gets I know I can always rely on my two loves – Kevin and running – to help get me through stressful times and make me feel better πŸ™‚ BRING ON THE FALL!
Leave a Reply

