Pennsylvania Hills

I’ve been in my hometown since Thursday visiting friends and family. I live in a suburb about 15 miles west of Philadelphia. When I moved to Virginia three years ago I really missed all the people I left behind, so I LOVE coming home to see them. However, running here can be pretty challenging because of the HILLS!

Now, I live in Virginia which is very hilly and I have gotten so much stronger by running on hills constantly. But for some reason I feel like the hills in Pennsylvania are much, much, more difficult! I knew I had a 16 miler on the training plan this weekend, so I tried to plan a route that minimized the crushing hills as much as possible.

I think I’ve been scarred for life by the horrible runs I’ve had here in Pennsylvania due to the hills. I remember when I was training for the NYC Marathon, I was home one weekend and had to run 20 miles. My dad has recently gotten into road cycling and I asked him to plan out a route for me. He told me it wasn’t “that” hilly. Well I don’t know what his definition of hilly is but this run was FULL of hills- not just little, easy rolling hills, but hills that are on such a sleep incline you feel like you need to crawl up them. By the time I was at the halfway point I was exhausted and upset. I only ran 13 miles that day.

So anyway, I’ve been a little traumatized by the Pennsylvania hills so I was a little worried about doing my long run here. I woke up early and was out the door and running by 6:15. I was happy to feel cooler temperatures and the first 5 miles of the run were awesome. I felt great and was in such a good mood! Then the hills started to get worse, but I was able to handle them easily and felt strong going up them. Then came a big hill right before mile 10. I pushed hard to get up it, and stopped for the first time to walk at the top to catch my breath. I got back into it less than a minute later and ran another mile before I had to stop again while going up a hill that seriously looked like it was going straight up to the sky. I was trying to move my feet but felt like I wasn’t going anywhere!

After those two massive hills the rest of the run was much better. I felt pretty good from miles 11 – 16,  but I did stop two more times. My legs were really tired from the climbs and they felt tight, so I wanted to stretch them out.

It was a good run – much better than last week – but most of all I was lonely because Kevin wasn’t with me. He was back in Virginia doing his own long run. It’s funny- before I met him I ran all the time by myself and loved it. Now though, I miss him when he doesn’t run with me and it feels harder when I’m alone.

The rest of the day was filled with family, friends, food, and fun because it was my BRIDAL SHOWER! It was such a great day that made me feel very loved. My bridesmaids did an amazing job and everything was perfect. I thought they had the cutest favors, because they know how much Kevin and I love to run!

I was so blessed to receive so many amazing gifts.

I even got to watch a very special video made by Kevin!

I love my bridesmaids!

Here’s my weekly run down:

  • Monday: 6 mile run (57:33 / 9:25 pace) + Body Pump (1 hour)
  • Tuesday: 7 miles of speedwork at the track- the plan was to warm up, run 4 x 1600 meter  (1 mile) repeats @ 7:30 pace w/ 800 meter (1/2 mile) recovery, then cooldown (Our splits were 7:28, 7:30, 7:28, 7:30)
  • Wednesday: Body Pump (1 hour)- No spinning because I had a doctor’s appointment 😦
  • Thursday: 8 mile run (1:17:00 / 9:37 pace)
  • Friday: Quick arms and abs workout (17 minutes)
  • Saturday: 16 mile run (1:29:50 / 9:21 pace)
  • Sunday: Rest

Off to the beach for a couple days! I love summer 🙂

3 responses to “Pennsylvania Hills

  1. Running/biking hills really suck! And even if they never get easier, you will def. get stronger and faster going up them.

    Looks like you had a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: A Great Week of Training | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Our Pennsylvania Baby Shower | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

