Recent Good Eats – Part II

Just some food I’ve loved lately!

Anything from Mama Pea’s New Cookbook. One of my favorite vegan bloggers, Sarah, from Peas and Thank You just published her first cookbook. It is seriously amazing. Everything we’ve made has been perfect and gotten approval from Kevin as well. Here’s some of what we’ve tried so far.

Strawberry Mango Salad with Homemade Cinnamon Dijon Vinaigrette, Roasted Pumpkin Chickpeas, and Homemade Croutons

Red & Green Lentil Enchiladas, Spanish Quinoa, and Guacamole

Lots of Summer Salads. I can’t get enough of my big cold salads in this summer heat! In addition to the one above, here’s just a little sample of some of the salads I have been enjoying recently.

Spinach, avocado, roasted red peppers, pinto beans, and homemade cilantro-lime dressing

Spinach, broccoli, avocado, zucchini, squash, crumbed veggie burger with cilantro-lime dressing

Spinach, blueberries, strawberries, tomatoes, onion, avocado, cinnamon dijon vinaigrette dressing

Veggie Cashew Stir Fry with Sweet Chili Sauce. Assorted leftover veggies [carrots, collard greens, broccoli, onion, bell peppers, zucchini, squash] stir-fried and tossed in sweet chili sauce. Served over brown rice with some cashews on top. So good!

Veggie Kabobs. We tossed chopped veggies in olive oil and Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute, then skewered them and stuck them in the oven on high heat until they were nice and crispy. I actually like kabobs better when they are roasted/broiled rather than grilled. We ate them with vegetarian baked beans and brown rice, with hot sauce over everything (we love hot sauce!).

Banana & Almond Butter Sandwich. I like to eat this before running if I give myself enough time, or as an afternoon or night time snack. It’s really easy- just slice a banana down the middle, spread some almond (or peanut) butter on one side, then close it up and eat! Simple Perfection 🙂

Smoothies.  I’ve been loving smoothies lately when I get back from a hot run and my stomach can’t handle real food yet. They are quick and easy to make (when my old blender decides to cooperate) and great for refueling tired muscles. They are delicious too! My secret is to use frozen banana instead of ice, which makes the smoothie cold, smooth and thick without gross icy chunks. I just take over ripe bananas, peel them, break them into small pieces and put them in a baggie in the freezer. That way they are ready for me to use when I need them. The smoothie below contained: 1 cup of almond milk, 1 scoop of protein powder (see below), 1 cup of frozen banana pieces, 1/4 cup rolled oats, and 1.5 – 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. These smoothies hold me over for HOURS!

So I don’t eat many pre-packaged/prepared foods because I prefer to cook with natural, whole foods, but lately I’ve been loving two products in particular. Even though they are ‘packaged’ they are made with natural, unprocessed ingredients so I feel good about eating them.

Sun Warrior Protein Powder. I’ve been looking for a protein powder that is not made with milk or whey and isn’t loaded with sugar. I finally found this kind and it is seriously the best and most delicious protein powder I’ve ever had. I’ve been loving it in smoothies after hot runs! The ingredient list is short & sweet: whole brown rice protein, vanilla, pectin, xanthan gum, and stevia. One scoop is 70 calories and 16 grams of protein, and it has a complete amino acid profile. Love it!

Amy’s California Burgers. Most veggie burgers have a lot of soy (I try to limit my soy intake to one serving a day for health and personal reasons) and hard to pronounce ingredients. They also sometimes contain milk and/or eggs, which I also try not to have often. Amy’s veggie burgers are almost all vegan and made with real whole grains and vegetables- no fillers. My favorite is the California Burger. I like to eat them on bread, in wraps, or on top of salads (like the picture above).

What delicious food have you eaten lately? 🙂

Leave a Reply

