My Addiction

I have a secret addiction… I LOVE to research and register for races. I seriously spend a lot of time looking for races all over the place that I could possibly run. Distance? Doesn’t matter- I’ll do a 5K, 10K, 11.75K, 10 miler, half marathon, full marathon– whatever! Location? I love traveling for races, obviously since my big goal is to run a marathon in all 50 states. However, ย I also appreciate the local races that are nearby where I live (my wallet does too!)

I love daydreaming about training for and running these races, and who else I could talk into registering with me. Yeah, I know, it’s kind of weird.

Last night I registered Kevin and I for not one, but TWO races! The first is the newest race in the Rock & Roll Marathon Series and it just so happens to be nearby in Washington D.C! The Rock & Roll group took over the National Marathon/Half Marathon that we ran last year. It was a good race, but I think it will be even better now. Last year due to traffic and horrible event organization, we got to the race late, missed the start, couldn’t find parking, were totally stressed out, etc. and then we both ran our best half marathons EVER! Kevin ran it in 1:45:31 and I ran it in 1:48:55. This year the race is called the Rock & Roll USA Marathon & Half Marathonย and it will be on March 17, 2012. We will be running the half. I’m excited because I’ve run a couple other Rock & Roll races before [Philadelphia & Nashville], and they were both great. I’m also excited because a few of my friends will also be running this race! The price goes up by $20 tomorrow so we made sure to register early!

We also registered for the Veterans Day 10K in Washington D.C. on November 13, 2011. I am very excited about this one for two reasons. Reason #1 is that out of all the races I have run in my life, I have only ran a 10K once before! And it was while I was in college back in 2007! So I am looking forward to running another one and seeing if I can blow my previous time [56:50] out of the water. Reason #2 is because this will be our first race as a MARRIED couple! We will be getting married on Friday, November 11th, which is actually Veterans Day. We aren’t taking our honeymoon until a week later, and I honestly couldn’t think of a better way to end our wedding weekend than by doing something we love – running a race together. I also really want to make shirts that say “Just Married” on them! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so excited for both of these races! Now I’m on the prowl for a local 5K to round out our race schedule.

Some of my favorite race finder websites are:

  • Running in the USA: Awesome interactive maps and calendars of races of all distances.
  • Marathon Guide: Another site with maps and calendars, but focused towards marathons (in the US and around the world).
  • UltraRunning Races & Events:ย My newest obsession because I have convinced myself that I need to run an ultra next.
  • The Virginia Running Club Directory: All Virginia races- 5Ks, 10Ks, 10 miles+, trails, ultras, etc.
  • Active: You can search for races of all distances, find your results, and register for races on this website.
  • Runner’s World Race Finder: This website has a detailed search form to help you find different races around the world based on whatever criteria you choose.
  • Racevine: A cool website that has lots of race reviews by real people.
  • Athlinks:ย I love this site because you can search by name for results that you can “claim” and add to your profile. When you type in a name it brings up all of that person’s races. Here is my page.
  • Daily Mile: I always talk about this website but I love it because you can connect with people that are training for the same races you are.

I stalk these websites on a regular basis! I love signing up for new races because it helps me run with a purpose when I know I have a race coming up. They can get expensive, but the way that Kevin and I see it is that we don’t really spend money at restaurants/bars, and on clothing and things like that. We choose to spend our money on running instead. As far as addictions go, I think this is a pretty healthy one ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “My Addiction

  1. I think a few times a week I am looking up races! I want to register for the half but I coach gymnastics and they don’t have our meet schedule out yet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I really want the discount though and run that race every year.

    It will be really cute if you get shirts made!!! And what a better wedding gift to eachother than a 10k PR ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ahh that’s a tough dilemma! I guess it’s worth it to wait and register once you know for sure you can run it, rather than sign up now and risk wasting your money. Hopefully you’ll be able to do it!! It is practically in your backyard anyway, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

      I am definitely going to have to make the shirts! I love cute stuff like that ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

