Delicious Things I Ate This Week

Happy Friday everyone! Just a quick post about the yummy food I ate this week!

Mexican Jumbalaya. I randomly made up this recipe and it turned out delicious! It was brown rice, red beans, bell pepper, corn, okra, tomatoes, and a Morningstar Veggie Sausage for a little extra protein. I used a Goya seasoning packet that my Dad gave me to add some Mexican flavor (of course!) and it was so good!

Asparagus, Yellow Squash, and Chickpea Pasta. Another random recipe. I sauteed the veggies and chickpeas then added whole wheat pasta and Tastefully Simple Dried Tomato & Garlic Pesto mix. I put it over a bed of baby spinach.

Falafel Burgers with Yogurt-Tahini Sauce. This recipe is from one of my favorite cookbooks, The Vegan Table. I put the baked falafel patties (which are basically chickpeas, onion, garlic, parsley, cumin, coriander, bread crumbs, lemon juice, and tahini) inside a whole wheat pita and put the sauce (plain greek yogurt, tahini, lemon juice, dill, and cucumber) on top. Kevin grilled some corn and roasted broccoli to eat on the side.

Falafel and Avocado Salad. I made a quick lunch salad with leftover falafel burgers, avocado, baby spinach, and Annie’s Organic Green Garlic dressing. Pickle on the side (I love pickles!).

Zucchini Cakes with Pineapple-Pinto Bean Rice. I used The Vegan Table for the Zucchini Cake recipe and they were AMAZING! Since becoming vegetarian the only animal product I’ve missed is crab cakes and these were so similar it was scary. You use grated zucchini that is squeezed dry which makes the texture inside the cake stringy like crab, and adding old bay seasoning makes it perfect. I combined brown rice, pineapple tidbits and pinto beans for the side. It was also really good 🙂

Tex-Mex Quinoa with Black Beans and Corn. This recipe is from Vegetarian Times (October 2010). It’s one of our favorites and Kevin asks for it almost every week. I also made homemade baked tortilla chips with corn tortillas to eat on the side.

Sandwich Thin with Peanut Butter and Banana.  I ate this before going to spin class this week. Just a whole wheat Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with some natural peanut butter and sliced banana- so good and gave me lots of energy!

Lots and Lots of Summer Fruit.  Fresh mango and peaches have been my favorite!

Cereal with Banana and Berries. More summer fruit! I love berries. Underneath all those strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries is banana, some cereal (Kashi cereals and Peanut Butter Puffins are my favorites) and Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk. Almond Milk is my best friend since I am lactose intolerant. I think it’s better than real milk!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough “Blizzard”. This was the best thing I ate ALL WEEK! It’s from the website Oh She Glows and it is 100% vegan. I followed the recipe and made banana soft-serve “ice cream” and cookie dough balls. It was so good and Kevin and I couldn’t believe it was vegan.

I have some exciting things coming up, including a Darius Rucker concert tonight, Atlantic City tomorrow, 20 mile run on Sunday, and Myrtle Beach next Wednesday!

What delicious food did you eat this week?

Leave a Reply

