My Vegi-versary!

Wednesday, June 29th was my VEGI-VERSARY! One year ago, on June 29th, 2010, I was on vacation with my family in Ireland when I finally decided to take the plunge into a vegetarian lifestyle after a lot of research and thinking. What began as a 30 day trial turned into a year and I have never looked back. I feel cleaner, healthier, and stronger than ever. You can read more about my decision on my About Me page.

Since it was my vegi-versary I decided it might be a good time to share some of what I eat on a daily basis. I get the “What do you eat?” question very often after people learn that I am a vegetarian. After that question usually comes, “Is Kevin a vegetarian too?” to which I answer, no, but he eats that way 90% of the time when we are at home. We have both learned over the past year how amazing and DELICIOUS vegetarian food can be. We have had a lot of fun being creative and trying new things in the kitchen. Actually, most of the food I eat is vegan because I have a lactose intolerance (that I try to ignore sometimes due to a love of ice cream and desserts). Here is a sample of some of the food I ate over the past week:

BREAKFASTS

I will be the first to admit that I usually eat the same thing for breakfast every day. For over a year I have been obsessed with my favorite oatmeal, which is a 1/2 cup oats cooked with half water and half unsweetened vanilla almond milk, cinnamon, and a sliced banana. Cooking the banana in the oatmeal makes it really thick and creamy. Then once it’s cooked I stir in some fruit (usually blueberries, raspberries, or raisins) and either almond butter or peanut butter. I eat this whether it’s winter or summer. Doesn’t matter to me! This is probably my most calorie dense meal of the day but it keeps me full and gives me tons of energy for the day to come. I find that on the (rare) days I don’t eat oatmeal for breakfast I never really feel satisfied for the rest of the day. I also ALWAYS have coffee with breakfast. This is just necessary.

Oatmeal with fresh raspberries and almond butter

Oatmeal with fresh blueberries and natural peanut butter

Everything bagel with fried egg and a peach

This week I was feeling adventurous and had a bagel and egg sandwich one morning. Since I am off for the summer I am willing to experiment more with different breakfasts. I’m always scared to do that during the school year because I have a late lunch and I get very cranky when hungry. Cranky teacher + elementary school students = disaster! Also, I recently started incorporating eggs back into my diet after being repulsed by them for the last year. But I am really loving them now and I think they can be a good staple in a vegetarian diet.

PS. Do you like my super awesome bowl? My aunt got me the red one then I got the blue one for Kevin. It is a ceramic bowl that fits inside an insert with a handle! It is microwave safe too. We both love it. You can find them here!

LUNCHES

I don’t really have lunch pictures because I usually eat a big salad with random veggies, or I have my dinner leftovers for lunch the next day. I do try to change it up a little bit, though. Like below, I reheated Quinoa Chickpea Confetti Casserole from the cookbook Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan and put it over some spinach with leftover Mmm Sauce mixed in. I also try to eat a piece of fruit with lunch everyday.

I also wanted to show a picture of what Kevin takes to work for lunch and snacks. He doesn’t eat this all at once, but throughout the day. We’re both training for marathons so he needs a lot of snacks!

PB&J on whole wheat (made with natural PB and fruit preserves), greek yogurt, pita crackers & hummus, Larabar, peach, and banana.

SNACKS

I always have one or two snacks per day. Usually one in the afternoon and sometimes one before bed, because we eat dinner early and I can’t sleep if I am hungry. These snacks are usually veggies or crackers with hummus, lots of FRUIT, non-dairy yogurt, small bowls of cereal, Larabars, popcorn or nuts. I also love fun snacks like tortilla chips and salsa, and wine! (Made from grapes, right?)

Pita chips and hummus

Snack food tailgating before a concert- Tortilla chips, homemade guacamole, salsa, and wine!

Philly soft pretzel!

Okay, so I didn’t eat the soft pretzel this week but it’s one of my favorite snacks EVER. I am from Philadelphia and these are the real deal. I love them especially after long runs when my body is craving salt. So good!

DINNERS

Dinners are where we get creative! I love looking up new recipes but we also have a couple that we love and repeat often. Here are a few that we enjoyed this week:

Grilled corn and veggie kabobs at our tailgate

Mexicali Chopped Salad with Cilantro-Lime dressing from Vegetarian Times (July/August '10) & homemade baked tortilla chips

Bean and Corn Tortilla Lasagna with Avocado from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan.

Spicy black bean burger (Morningstar brand), guacamole, and grilled corn, avocado, and tomato salad with honey-lime dressing.

Bagel & egg sandwich with sauteed collard greens and roasted fingerling potatoes.

Roasted Chickpea Tacos from http://www.peasandthankyou.com, with sauteed collard greens.

Homemade pizza on naan bread with veggies, pineapple, pesto, and vegan cheese. Our standard pre-long run meal!

DESSERTS

Kevin and I both love desserts! Since I have trouble with dairy I try to stay away from real ice cream but still enjoy it in moderation (and with a Lactaid pill).

Peanut butter pie I made for a dinner party we went to and it was SO DELICIOUS!

Strawberry shortcake from JoJo's, a local ice cream shop.

Banana soft-serve with peanut butter cups.

This banana soft-serve “ice cream” is my favorite dessert ever! I can’t remember where I found out about it but it was somewhere in the blog world. All you do is freeze small chunks of peeled ripe banana, then throw the chunks in the blender and blend away until it turns into a delicious, creamy, naturally sweet and totally vegan “ice cream.” It’s hard to believe it’s only bananas! Of course, then I added peanut butter cups which do have dairy, but I don’t always do that. It is delicious plain too. Other desserts I love include So Delicious coconut milk ice cream sandwiches and small pieces of dark chocolate.

As you can see, we tend to go for a lot of Mexican-style food because we love it, and we also have a BIG sweet tooth. My diet definitely isn’t perfect and I don’t want it to be. Fresh unprocessed ingredients, variety and moderation is what makes me happy and it makes my belly happy too. I love trying new recipes from cookbooks, magazines, websites, and blogs, and Kevin is a great taste tester 🙂 Hope you enjoyed seeing some of my weekly eats!

4 responses to “My Vegi-versary!

  1. Your food pictures look like they are from a magazine.

  2. Dad, I am experimenting more with the camera you got me. I took most of those pictures in the macro setting with natural light coming through the window!

  3. Kevin Spaulding

    Katie, you are an amazing young woman, I’m so happy that you came into our lives. We are all anxiously awaiting the wedding, when you will offically become our daughter-in-law. Love you your future father-in-law Kevin.

Leave a Reply

