Out of My Comfort Zone – Body Pump

Today I tried Body Pump for the first time! My favorite Spin instructor teaches this class and she encouraged me to come try it. I have been trying to do things that are out of my comfort zone of running, and since I have the time now that it’s summer I decided to go this morning. I am really bad at doing strength training regularly so I knew this was going to be a challenge for me.

Here is a description of the class from the Body Pump website:

“BODYPUMP™ is the original barbell class that strengthens your entire body. This 60-minute workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls. Great music, awesome instructors and your choice of weight inspire you to get the results you came for – and fast! Like all the LES MILLS™ programs, a new BODYPUMP™ class is released every three months with new music and choreography.”

The instructor told me at Spin on Friday to come a little early so she could help me get set up and explain things to me. When I walked into the group exercise room I realized what she was talking about- each person had so much equipment set up next to them! I needed a step bench, four of those square lifts that go underneath the step bench (I don’t know what they are called), a weight bar, several different sized weights to go on it, a mat, and a towel. Whew! All this equipment intimidated me at first but my instructor assured me I would be okay and catch on quickly.

The class began and after the warm up I knew I was in for a challenge! I had very light weights but it still felt difficult for me, since you repeat the strength moves over and over again for the whole song. My instructor also told me how to modify some moves and the amount of weight to use since it was my first time. I had to watch other people in the mirror to make sure I was doing the right thing and that my form was okay. I loved the music and the variety, though. The hour truly flew by. When it was over my whole body was jello!

Group exercise is still pretty new to me but I am slowly learning to love it. I think that doing things other than running is making me much stronger and it is definitely giving me more muscle tone. I really, REALLY want to continue taking Body Pump during the summer and when the school year starts up again. We will see if that happens!

One response to “Out of My Comfort Zone – Body Pump

  1. Pingback: Sunday Night Reflections | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

