Bike to Work Day!

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a good weekend. Mine was super busy, like usual. I am looking forward to summer break more than ever. I need some serious down time!

Friday was National Bike to Work Day. I only live about 2.25 miles from my school but I have always driven to work. My route to work is on a very busy road where drivers are not respectful to bikers or runners, so I was always afraid to bike to work. In honor of Bike to Work Day, I decided that Friday would be the day to try it!

Since I was afraid to bike on the busy main road, I figured out another way to get to school. It was slightly longer and much hillier, but it took me the back way through nice, calm, neighborhoods. This made me feel much more comfortable. It took me about 13 minutes to go 2.3 miles on the bike. I was a little bit sweaty when I got there, but I had packed supplies and a change of clothes in my backpack so I was able to freshen up without a problem.

After school I was feeling tired, but the ride home refreshed me and actually made me feel better. I really enjoyed biking to work and I think I may have to do it more often!

Kevin also biked to work on Friday. He has a commute of just over 2 miles in the opposite direction of mine. He also enjoyed his ride, and the crazy thing is that it took him LESS time to get there than it normally does when he drives! That’s because his commute is going with traffic, and mine goes against it. I think he will be biking to work more often 🙂

Here is my weekly workout recap:

  • Monday: 4 mile run (37:08/9:16 pace) + Zumba class (1 hour)
  • Tuesday: 5 mile run (46:31/9:18 pace)
  • Wednesday: Spinning class (1 hour) + 20 minutes of arm work
  • Thursday: 3 mile run (28:00/9:20 pace)
  • Friday: Bike to work (4.6 miles round-trip, total time- 36:32)
  • Saturday: 9 mile run (1:21:10/9:01 pace)
  • Sunday: Rest!

Wow I had a pretty active week! Hoping to keep up with the Zumba and Spinning next week. Maybe some biking to work, too!

Leave a Reply

