One Year Ago Today…

Kevin and I slept in (until 8:30- late for us!) and then went for our first longer run since the marathon last weekend. It is a BEAUTIFUL day here and I knew exactly which route I wanted to run. We live about 3 miles from our wedding/ceremony venue which is right on the Occoquan River, so we decided to run there and back. Here are some pictures (taken last summer)

Where the ceremony will take place

The aisle and the reception clubhouse

The Occoquan River

I love going there to visit! It’s so pretty. I can’t wait to get married there in 6 months (on 11/11/11!). We ended up running 6 miles in 54:50. Aside from getting hungry at the end it felt great, and it was the perfect way to start our Saturday 🙂

One of the reasons I wanted to run that particular route was because today is a very special day. One year ago on May 7, 2010, Kevin and I got ENGAGED! Here is the story…

It was a Friday night, and Kevin took me to the Mystery Dinner Theater in Arlington, Virginia because I love going to things like that. This theater does a lot of interactive audience activities in between each act. He had planned with the production manager to set one up in between dinner and dessert, where the audience and actors performed dramatic proposals. He had also asked my dad for permission a month before when we had gone to visit my family in Pennsylvania.

Taking pictures before we left... I had no idea!

The actors performed their “dramatic proposal” first, then they had audience ‘volunteers’ do some (they were filled in on the plan in advance). The first guy was told to pick an audience member to act out a proposal too, and he actually picked me without knowing that I was the one it was for in the first place. He came over and gave his fake speech and proposal, and then was pulled away by someone who knew about it before the whole plan was given away. I thought it was funny and still had no idea what was going on, even though Kevin next to me was freaking out because his cover was almost blown.

Next another audience member got up with his girlfriend and ‘proposed’ to her, which I totally thought was real and I told Kevin, “aww look he is really proposing!” Everyone clapped and they said that was good, but it was not a real one, and that they wanted to do one more to show how it’s really done. The actors pointed at Kevin and he stood up and looked at me waiting for me to stand up too. I finally realized what was going on and I said, “Kevin are you serious!?” He walked me to the middle of the room and got down on one knee and asked me to marry him.

I was immediately overwhelmed and shocked, and I started crying and hugging him, forgetting even to say yes at first! The entire audience was cheering and clapping and another actor got the whole thing on video with my camera, which Kevin had given him earlier.

 

It was such an amazing proposal and one of the best nights of my life. Oh, and the ring was gorgeous too!

So tonight, to celebrate getting engaged one year ago, we are going back to the Mystery Dinner Theater where it all happened with Kevin’s parents! I am so excited!

I hope you are all having a great weekend so far 🙂 Thanks for reading!

3 responses to “One Year Ago Today…

  1. Pingback: Baby K: 19 Weeks | Run Inspired

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday Run Inspired! | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Our One Year Anniversary | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

