Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day

Here is a 24 hour snapshot of what life is like for us at 8 months old. I took these pictures on Memorial Day (May 27th). We have been focusing on keeping more of a routine on weekends and days that we are off- especially when it comes to making sure he gets two good naps in the crib. We were pretty successful with that on this day, despite being super busy!

5:15 a.m. My alarm goes off super early for my day off. But I have a Memorial Day 5K to go run! I decided to go to the race alone to let my boys sleep, so I get myself ready and pump.

5:55 a.m. I leave the house and head south to Fredericksburg for the race. I also stop at Wawa for (necessary) coffee and eat a Larabar.

6:20 a.m. Arrived at race start, picked up my bib and timing chip, use the bathroom, and run a mile to warm up.

photo 1

7:00 a.m. RUN!

7:23 a.m. And I’m done. Recover, catch my breath, eat a banana, drink water, then drive home. Almost get pulled over for speeding but the cop got the person in front of me instead :)

photo 2

8:05 a.m. I get home and find both of my boys still sleeping. This is super late for the baby who usually gets up between 6:30 and 7:30. I go to wake him up in order to make sure he takes his naps like usual. Kevin (my husband) wakes up too.

8:15 a.m. Hop in the shower. Daddy changes baby’s diaper and plays with him.

8:40 a.m. Feed the baby and he eats forever! Daddy goes downstairs to make breakfast for us.

IMG_7019

9:10 a.m. Time for me to eat a real breakfast. I have oatmeal with banana, blueberries, and peanut butter while baby plays in the exersaucer. Plus more coffee!

IMG_7025 IMG_7024

9:40 a.m. I’m finished eating, so I make the baby his oatmeal which I mix with banana and cinnamon. He happily eats it all.

IMG_7029

10:05 a.m. I take the baby upstairs to change his diaper. Afterwards I rock him a little bit to get him to go to sleep. He’s drowsy but still awake.

10:10 a.m. I put him in the crib and he lays there playing with his blanket and talks to himself. Since he slept later this day his first nap was a little later than usual. I am hoping it doesn’t mess with him too much. I go downstairs to start making these smoky sweet potato burgers to grill later while Kevin mows the lawn.

IMG_7031 IMG_7032

10:30 a.m. After talking and babbling and whining a bit, baby finally falls asleep.

10:45 a.m. I finish prepping the sweet potato burgers and start chopping up onion, lettuce, and tomato for toppings. Kevin comes in from outside to shower and then puts a load of laundry in.

IMG_7033

IMG_7034

11:15 a.m. My BBQ preparations are finished, so I help Kevin take the swing apart :( Kevin doesn’t need it now that he naps in his crib and doesn’t enjoy spending time in it anymore, so it is time to pack it away until baby #2 comes along.

IMG_7035

11:25 a.m. I work on doing some of the many dishes that accumulated while I was in the kitchen.

11:37 a.m. I head upstairs to get myself ready for the rest of the day. Afterwards I fold some laundry while I wait for the baby to wake up.

12:05 p.m. The baby wakes up after sleeping for 1 hour and 35 minutes, which is pretty typical for his morning nap. I change his diaper and get him dressed, then I feed him.

12:35 p.m. We head out to Walmart to pick up a few things for our little BBQ.

IMG_7037

1:20 p.m. We arrive back home and make lunch for the baby and us. I have eggs with spinach and snack on some tortilla chips, while Kevin has eggs and waffles, and the baby has some white beans and applesauce.

IMG_7039 IMG_7041

1:50 p.m. I changed baby’s clothes because daddy made a mess while feeding him. I also change his diaper. Then we have some playtime on the floor. He is getting a little cranky so I think it’s time for nap #2.

IMG_7045

2:25 p.m. I take the baby upstairs to feed him while Kevin makes the beef burgers for the BBQ.

2:50 p.m. I put the baby down for a nap and once again he is rolling around and talking to himself. He usually takes a nap around 1 or 2 but his late wake up got him off track. I start pre-cooking the sweet potato burgers in a skillet so that they don’t fall apart on the grill. Kevin does some more laundry.

IMG_7046

3:20 p.m. The baby finally falls asleep, much later than I like but at least it’s a nap! I finish the burgers and Kevin puts laundry away.

IMG_7049

3:45 p.m. Happy Hour :)

IMG_7050

4:45 p.m. Our friends come over with their little girl Olivia for our little BBQ. The baby wakes up a few minutes later. His afternoon nap was 1.5 hours. I go upstairs to get him and change his diaper while everyone goes outside.

IMG_7055

5:15 p.m. We all hang out in the backyard and give the babies their bottles.

5:45 p.m. The babies play on a blanket in the grass while the guys work on grilling and we all have snacks and drinks. It’s so cute to watch Kevin and Olivia interact with each other now that they are getting older. Kevin is 3 months older than her and very curious about everything she does.

IMG_7066

6:30 p.m. We all eat! Including the babies. Sweet peas for Olivia and a mini sweet potato burger for Kevin, which he likes! The adults eat beef or sweet potato burgers with black bean and corn salad.

IMG_7067

7:45 p.m. Our friends leave, and since it’s getting late we skip Kevin’s bath and get him ready for bed. I change his diaper, put him in PJs, and nurse him to sleep, while Kevin cleans up and does dishes. He also puts the cloth diapers in the wash (never ending laundry on this day!!!)

8:20 p.m. I put the baby in bed and he whined for a few minutes.

8:23 p.m. Baby is asleep.

8:30 p.m. We decide we want something sweet for dessert so Kevin runs out to get us Chipwiches :) I relax, watch the Bachelorette, and start typing my race recap for the blog. Kevin finishes up diaper laundry.

IMG_7069

10:00 p.m. I go upstairs (way too late) and get ready for bed. I pump and go to sleep.

4:10 a.m. I wake up to the baby crying and I am surprised. He hasn’t woken up at this time in a while and sounds very upset about something. I let him cry for a little bit to see if he will fall back asleep.

4:25 a.m. His crying gets more intense so I go in to get him. I change his diaper wondering if it’s bothering him, but it’s not overly wet. I notice him rooting around and realize he is hungry. I mentally count how many feedings he had the day before and felt really guilty when I realized it was only 5 and he usually has 6, so I feed him and he eats for a while.

5:00 a.m. I put him back down in his crib and he falls back asleep. I go back to sleep as well.

6:05 a.m. Time for me to get up and get ready for work, extra sleepy due to his nighttime wake up. Baby is still asleep.

We had a really great Memorial Day. It was super busy, but we got a lot done and still had time to relax and get some quality time with our baby and our friends. I got the baby back on track with his normal nap and feeding schedule today so hopefully he sleeps better tonight. We are taking steps in the right direction!

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 6 + 3 meals of solids (breakfast, lunch, dinner)
  • # of diaper changes: 7
  • # of outfit changes: 3 (in and out of PJs + one outfit change after lunch because daddy made a mess)
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~7 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~15 hours
  • # of hours spent nursing: ~ 2 hours
  • # of hours spent pumping: Only 30 minutes @ 5:30 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. (since I wasn’t at work)
  • # of formula ounces eaten: 12 oz.
  • # of breast milk ounces eaten: whatever he ate directly from me :)

Previous “Day in the Life” posts:

11 responses to “Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day

  1. I need to put away our swing too…but it just makes me sad :(

  2. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK! | Run Inspired

  3. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  4. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

