A Day in the Life of a New Mom

My life as a new mom is amazing, exhausting, hilarious, overwhelming, heartwarming, fun, and BUSY. To show you how different things are these days, I decided to write a “Day in the Life” post that covers a 24 hour time period. Here is how I spent my Friday/Saturday as the mom of a 2 week old baby. Enjoy! :)

7:15 a.m. The baby wakes us up and lets us know he is hungry. I feed him while Kevin makes oatmeal for breakfast and brings it to me in bed.

7:45 a.m. Baby finishes eating, so daddy takes him to burp him, change his diaper, and get him dressed for the day. I finish eating while he is doing this.

8:00 a.m. Daddy leaves for work, and I shower and get ready for the day with the baby in the bouncer.

       

8:30 a.m. The baby starts crying because he’s sick of the bouncer while I’m in the middle of getting dressed. My milk leaks everywhere and all over him (LOL) when I pick him up.

8:35 a.m. He’s calm and sleeping now. He just wanted to be held for a couple minutes!

8:40 a.m. Aaaand now he’s fussy again! I finish getting ready with one hand while holding him with the other.

9:00 a.m. I finally finish getting ready and go downstairs. The baby naps in the Boppy newborn lounger while I watch the Today Show, talk with my aunt who is visiting, and prep new cloth diapers that I want to wash for the first time. We are going to attempt to transition to cloth in a month or so!

       

9:35 a.m. Time to eat again. Diaper change in between boobs.

10:10 a.m. Baby finishes eating and is now asleep again. We go downstairs and my aunt holds him while I make and eat an egg sandwich for lunch #1… with a placenta pill on the side :). Then I prep the diaper bag to make sure we have everything we need while being out for a few hours.

10:45 a.m. We leave the house and head to the train station to drop off my aunt.

11:15 a.m. We drop off my aunt and say goodbye :( then it’s time to head to my chiropractor appointment.

11:30 a.m. At the chiropractor I get an amazing adjustment. My back and neck have been hurting from nighttime nursing sessions in bed where I know my posture has been horrible.

11:50 a.m. Baby K starts crying at the end of my appointment and I know he is hungry, so I feed him in the car.

12:15 p.m. After he finishes eating I change his diaper in the back seat of the car. I also need to change his clothes because he somehow peed through them! (This actually happens a lot- I don’t know how he does it!)

      

12:30 p.m. Now that Kevin is fed and happy, I go across the parking lot to CVS to look for medicine to help him with his tummy troubles.

12:45 p.m. I leave CVS and start driving home, eating a snack on the way home because I am HUNGRY!

1:05 p.m. I realize that I forgot to get laundry detergent at CVS (thanks baby brain and sleep deprivation!) so I stop at Target to get it since the baby is sleeping and doing okay. Of course I end up leaving with more than just detergent. Why does that always happen at Target?!

1:40 p.m. I leave Target and head home. When I get home I change clothes to go on a walk and try to put the baby in the Baby Bjorn for the first time so I can get some things done, but he hates it and screams the whole time.

2:00 p.m. Baby is hungry so I feed him again and then change his diaper.

2:40 p.m. I put him in the Moby Wrap, which he likes much better!

2:45 p.m. I make a fruit, almond milk, and protein powder smoothie and drink it while relaxing on the couch with the baby.

3:15 p.m. We go downstairs to put the cloth diapers in the wash.

3:25 p.m. We leave for a walk around the neighborhood and hope it doesn’t rain. The clouds don’t look too promising…

      

3:50 p.m. We run home in the pouring rain. Luckily I wasn’t far from our house! To my surprise baby slept through the entire downpour.

3:55 p.m. After drying off a bit, we go to the basement to put cloth diapers in the dryer.

4:00 p.m. I sit on the couch, cuddle with a sleeping baby, and respond to emails.

4:20 p.m. Time to change a really bad diaper. Yuck! No pictures of that :) You’re welcome!

4:30 p.m. Feed baby again while watching Dancing With the Stars on the DVR. Answer the door when the UPS guy knocks and get excited when I realize it’s our new photo canvases that we ordered from http://www.personalizationmall.com!

5:15 p.m. Kevin comes home from work and gives baby his medicine for his tummy. They hang out together while I work on addressing envelopes to send out our birth announcements.

5:40 p.m. We eat dinner. I have leftover rice and bean salad over spinach with avocado on top.

6:00 p.m. I keep working on birth announcements and daddy changes baby’s diaper.

6:35 p.m. Baby eats his dinner!

7:30 p.m. We go to Sweet Frog for froyo with some friends. This is the first time I have had it since before I was pregnant! I avoided soft serve ice cream during my pregnancy because of risk of listeria. It tasted soooo good! Somehow I didn’t take any pictures so here’s a picture of the Sweet Frog logo that I stole from Google :)

9:00 p.m. We arrive back home and baby is hungry again. I feed him while continuing to work on our birth announcements.

10:00 p.m. Daddy brings baby upstairs for a bath (which he clearly does not enjoy), diaper change, and to get him into his PJs and swaddled. He always gets that arm out of his swaddle no matter what we do!

      

      

10:45 p.m. Feed baby again before bedtime.

11:15 p.m. – 2:30 a.m. We all SLEEP!

2:30 a.m. Baby wakes up! Diaper change by daddy, then he eats.

3:05 a.m. I re-swaddle the baby, turn on Sleep Sheep, and put him back to bed.

3:10 a.m. – 4:50 a.m. Some more sleep.

4:50 a.m. Baby wakes up screaming his head off, arching his back and pulling his legs up like he’s having tummy pain again. We give him his medicine again and he calms down then cuddles with daddy. I get ready for the day because we are all going to a 5K charity walk in D.C. to support my friend’s baby girl who is blind.

       

5:35 a.m. Baby eats breakfast and so do I. Kevin brings me an egg sandwich with avocado and he eats his oatmeal in bed next to me.

6:10 a.m. I change baby’s diaper and get him dressed for the day.

6:30 a.m. We pack up the diaper bag and the stroller in the car and drive to pick up our friends.

7:00 a.m. We arrive at my school to meet all of my coworkers who are also going to the walk.

7:15 a.m. We leave my school to head north for the Light the Way 5K. Baby’s first race! (Race recap to come tomorrow!)

So that was 24 hours in my new life as a mommy! Obviously each day is different and this was just a little snippet. Being a parent is a ton of work but it’s the best ‘work’ I have ever done. Baby Kevin brings us so much joy- no matter how many dirty diapers we change and how little sleep we are getting :)

24 Hour Totals

  • # of feedings: 10
  • # of diaper changes: 9
  • # of outfit changes: 4
  • # of hours of sleep for mom: ~5 hours
  • # of hours of sleep for baby: ~13 hours
  • # of hours spent nursing: 6 hours and 15 minutes (wow!)

I will have to do another one of these in a few months to see how it has changed!

28 responses to “A Day in the Life of a New Mom

  1. Have you tried out a day with less fibrous foods, does K seem to do better? Sometimes all the fiber in the foods that are best for you, can cause gas. Just a thought! And, to help prevent peeing through clothing, we always make sure our little guys man parts are pointing down (towards his toes) and we didn’t have too many leaking issues!

    Love the post — I remember those days well :)

    • Thanks Becky! My pediatrician also recommended changing my diet to avoid beans & leafy green vegetables. I’m a vegetarian and eat a lot of those types of foods, so they could definitely be the issue. The problem is that if I take those out of my diet I would be super limited to what I can eat so I’m trying to figure that out. I think it could also be dairy, because I’m lactose intolerant but still eat some dairy, and he seems extra gassy and upset after I do. I will probably try some elimination diets to figure out where the issue lies!

  2. I second Becky’s comment about pointing everything down. :-) It took us a little while to figure it out with Will. Hopefully it will help you have even fewer outfit changes!

  3. Ahh…what I have to look forward to :) I remember sitting there nursing my first and realizing that I spent a quarter of my day nursing and how depressing that seemed…but they grow so quickly and soon it was hardly anything to feed him. You look great…and Baby Kevin is a cutie…hope you get everything figured out with your diet soon!

    • Thanks Renee!! Not too much longer and you’ll be doing all of this with your baby! Although I am sure you’ll do it all much better than me since you are far from a ‘new mom’ :)

  4. Pingback: Light the Way 5K | Run Inspired

  5. Pingback: A Day in the Life of a Working Mom with a 2 Month Old | Run Inspired

  6. Pingback: A Day in the Life with a 3 Month Old | Run Inspired

  7. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 4 Month Old (Weekend Edition) | Run Inspired

  8. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 5 Month Old | Run Inspired

  9. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 6 Month Old (SPRING BREAK Edition) | Run Inspired

  10. Pingback: Day in the Life of a 7 Month Old | Run Inspired

  11. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 8 Month Old: Memorial Day | Run Inspired

  12. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 9 Month Old: SUMMER BREAK! | Run Inspired

  13. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 10 Month Old | Run Inspired

  14. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 11 Month Old | Run Inspired

  15. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 12 Month Old [My Birthday Edition!] | Run Inspired

  16. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 13 Month Old | Run Inspired

  17. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 14 Month Old | Run Inspired

  18. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 15 Month Old | Run Inspired

  19. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 16 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  20. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 17 Month Old (A Picture an Hour!) | Run Inspired

  21. Pingback: Day in the Life with an 18 Month Old | Run Inspired

  22. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 19 Month Old | Run Inspired

  23. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 21 Month Old: Summer Break! | Run Inspired

  24. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 22 Month Old | Run Inspired

  25. Pingback: Day in the Life with a 2 Year Old | Run Inspired

Leave a Reply

