Spring Break & Did-Do Lists

Most people know that I am a reading teacher for 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. I love my job so much, but let’s be honest, I have been looking forward to Spring Break since we returned to school after Winter Break.  I had such great intentions for my 9 wonderful days off from work. I was going to be super productive, do a lot of organizing and cleaning around the house, take care of errands and other tasks that I had been putting off, and get a lot of grad work done. I had a crazy to-do list that I was going to show in this post – but then I got too embarrassed and decided not to put it out there for the world to see. Why? Because it’s now Tuesday, and I’ve been on break for 4 days. What have I done so far? Pretty much nothing on my list.

But rather than dwell on all the things I’m not doing, I decided to focus on what I have accomplished in those 4 days. I read on Rookie Moms that instead of making to-do lists, you should make did-do lists to showcase all that you have gotten done in a day. I love this idea! I think it’s important to recognize and celebrate positive things at the end of the day, rather than be left with a long list of things that you weren’t able to complete. With that being said, here is my did-do list for Spring Break so far:

  • Exercising. I have gotten in some type of physical activity every day so far! Lots of running, including the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler, and lots of Body Pump. I’m loving being able to go to my morning classes like I did last summer. All this exercise is making me feel good and helping me sleep better too.
  • Cleaning. This is one big task that I am proud to say I accomplished! I did a good deep clean on our entire apartment. Now I just have to try to keep it that way…
  • Blogging. This is the type of writing I love to do and this is what is pushing grad work to the back burner right now. I just have so much I want to say and now that I have the time this week, I’m blogging more than ever!
  • Eating. Like clockwork, about 2.5 hours after eating anything, my stomach is growling again. It’s seriously crazy how much I am eating. I would think by now I should’ve gained more than 4 pounds.
  • Sleeping. I’ve been sleeping in a little later and taking naps like a champ! I love it!
  • Shopping. Today I picked out and ordered furniture for our nursery!!! This is so exciting to me and it makes this baby thing feel so real. We ordered a crib, dresser/changing table combo, and glider. Yay!
  • Picking Baby Names. We decided on our names for baby! Now we just have to wait until baby’s birthday to see which name we will go with. Yes, we also decided not to find out the baby’s gender. We can’t wait to be surprised!
  • Grad work. I have been shooting for and meeting my goal of working on my assignments for an hour each day… baby steps!
  • Bridal Shower Planning. I’ve been working hard on planning and coordinating my sister-in-law’s bridal shower which is at the end of this month. This is definitely something to be proud of. It’s hard work!

I will admit that I make a to-do list for every single day with tasks that I hope to accomplish. I learned the art of list-making from my dad who is a serious pro! However, it is very rare for me to do everything on the list each day, and things are always getting transferred to the next day or later that week. That doesn’t make me feel very good. In fact, it makes me feel pretty bad about myself. But writing this did-do list made me feel great! It was refreshing to realize that even though it may not seem like I’m doing a lot, I really am. I can see how this would be a great habit to get into once the new baby is here like Rookie Moms suggests. So at the end of the day when you can’t figure out where your day has gone, you can look back and see all that you did, feel good about yourself, and share it with your hubby.

Do you make to-do lists? Have you ever tried a did-do list instead?

4 responses to “Spring Break & Did-Do Lists

  1. Ha… I’ve totally done a did-do list! Very good for morale. ;)

  2. At some point last summer when I was away with friends, one of the hotels had the standard notepad in the room but at the top it was titled as “Accomplished List”. I thought it was such a good idea and have from time to time done my own when I feel like I’m not getting nearly as much done on my to-do list that I would like!

    • That’s awesome! I like the sound of an “Accomplished List” rather than “Did-Do” … I think I’m going to make this a habit :)

Leave a Reply

